The Library

Franchise Students MyBeckett Help

What is MyBeckett?

MyBeckett is your Portal to Leeds Beckett University’s online resources. It allows you to search for and use our collection of information databases, ejournals, eBooks and other electronic resources.

Log in to MyBeckett with your Leeds Beckett username and password.

If you need more help with MyBeckett, please call +44 (0) 113 812 1000 (24/7) or Email Us using the details on the right of this page.

Get started

Essential browsers, software and plug-ins

Essential browsers, software and plug-ins

To ensure compatibility with MyBeckett you need to install some software. You may already have the software but it's important that you have the latest version.

Google Chrome

We recommend you use Google Chrome as your web browser. Google Chrome is a fast, stable browser and can be downloaded / installed through the Google Store.

Other web browsers

You may use other browsers e.g. Internet Explorer, Firefox and Safari (Apple Mac). MyBeckett browser support information can be found on our supplier's website and you can test your browser using our supplier's browser checker.

We recommend you install multiple browsers. If you have any issues displaying web pages, switching to another browser often provides a quick workaround.

Java

Some parts of MyBeckett need the latest version of Java to work. Please download Java and follow the on screen instructions.

After downloading, install the program. Run this test to check that Java is installed and working properly on your computer.

Adobe Acrobat Reader

Some documents in modules are only available in PDF format. You need to install Acrobat Reader (or similar PDF reader software) to open them.

Make sure you untick the optional McAfee offer box, click the Install Now icon and follow the on screen instructions.

Adobe Flash Player

You need to download this to access some of the interactive features in MyBeckett. Please follow the on screen instructions.

Home network connections

When using MyBeckett on a home computer, bear in mind that your network connection speed has an impact on responsiveness.

Recommended connection speed: Minimum 2Mbps for a reasonable user experience when downloading / uploading files or playing video / audio.

MyBeckett will work on slower connections: 0.2Mbps to 2Mbps albeit with slow download and upload speeds which affect the quality of video / audio.

Accessibility

Accessibility

Please view Blackboard help for accessibility information.

Mobile - access modules on a mobile device

Access modules on a mobile device

Bb Student app

The Bb Student app allows you to access your modules on a variety of devices. To download the app, please choose your device OS from the list below:

Once you've downloaded the app onto your mobile device, open it and:

  • Search for Leeds Beckett University – MyBeckett

  • Log in with your MyBeckett Username and Password

For more info about the app please visit the Bb Student Website.

Navigate the MyBeckett Portal

Navigate the MyBeckett Portal

When you log in you'll see the the Home tab (below). Use the tabs near the top of the page to navigate to the different areas (described below).

Home

Includes Welcome information. You can also access your modules from the My Module list.

Library

Develop your academic skills through Skills for Learning, use Discover to search for material that can help you in your studies and access the Library website to view resources.

My Account

View and Change Your Password for all student IT systems.

Help

Contains links to Academic Regulations, local Help and Contacts.

Assessment and collaboration

Content Editor - post Blogs, Journals and Discussions

The Content Editor

The content editor allows you to add and format text, insert equations, hyperlinks and attach files to content.

It has two viewing modes: simple and advanced.

 

Simple Mode

Contains the most used formatting options. Click the show more  button (two downward arrows) to access advanced mode.

Advanced Mode

Contains every available formatting option. Click the show less  button (two upward arrows) to go back to simple mode.

Options not currently available are greyed out e.g. you can only apply or remove a hyperlink when you select something in the text box.

Don't lose your work!

If you're adding a long journal / blog / discussion / wiki entry you should type this in Microsoft Word or similar, and copy and paste your work into MyBeckett. This is so that in the event of internet connection issues, you don't lose everything you've typed.

Buttons - Row #1

Button

Description

Bold selected text.

Italicise selected text.

Underline selected text.

Strikethrough selected text.

Select paragraph style. Click down arrow next to current style to select from all available styles.

Select text font. Click down arrow next to current font to select from all available fonts.

Select text size. Click down arrow next to current font size to select from all available font sizes.

Create bulleted list. 

Create numbered list. 

Set text colour. Click down arrow to select a different text colour.

Set text highlights (background) colour. Click down arrow to select a different highlight colour.

Open a preview window showing how content will appear after submitting.

Open context editor help window.

Expand content editor window to fill the entire browser.


Buttons - Row #2

Button 

Description

Cut selected items.

Copy selected items.

Paste most recently copied or cut items.

Search for and replace text.

Undo previous action.

Redo previous action (available only if an action has been undone).

Align text to left margin.

Align text centrally.

Align text to right.

Align text to both left and right margins (justified).

Move text or object to the right (indent). Click again to indent further.

Move text or object to the left. Click again to indent further. You can't go beyond the left margin.

Make text superscript.

Make text subscript.

Add new or edit existing hyperlink. 

Remove hyperlink from selected text or object.

Enter text to right of current mouse pointer location (default).

Enter text to left of current mouse pointer location.

Add thin horizontal line to current mouse pointer position, spanning the entire width of text area.

Add thin centered line, setting width, height relative to current mouse pointer position, and whether to use shadows. 

Insert non-breaking space character at current mouse pointer position.

Automatic spell check. Click down arrow to select a different language.

Buttons - Row #3

Button

Description

Record video from your webcam and insert into the content area.

Attach file. Accepted file types: DOC, DOCX, EXE, HTML, HTM, PDF, PPT, PPTX, PPS, PPSX, TXT, XLS, XLSX, & ZIP. 

Embed image or edit existing image. You can add these file types: GIF, JPG, PNG, and TIF.

Embed media clip or edit existing selected media object. From the Type drop-down list, select media type. If you're not sure which one to use, upload the media to your student YouTube channel and either hyperlink to it or add a mashup (below).

Open Maths Formula Editor.

Add mashup.

Click to show all non-printing characters. Click again to hide them from view.

Format text as a block quote.

Open select special character window. Select a symbol to insert.

Open Insert Emoticon window. Select an emoticon to insert.

Position the mouse pointer where you want the anchor to appear and click to open the Insert/Edit Anchor window. Use anchors to position (anchor) other items and objects, such as images. 

Open preview window so you can see how the content will appear after publishing.

Open Insert/Edit Table window. 

Open Table Row Properties window.

Open Table Cell Properties window.

Insert blank row in table above current mouse pointer position.

Insert blank row in table below current mouse pointer position.

Delete current row from table. If you select multiple rows, all are deleted.

Insert blank column in table to left of the current mouse pointer position.

Insert blank column in table to right of the current mouse pointer position.

Delete current column from the table. If you select multiple columns, all are deleted.

Merge two or more selected table cells into a single cell.

Split previously merged table cells. If the cell or cells are not ones that were merged, nothing happens.

Open HTML Code View. You can directly edit HTML code. This feature is for experienced web developers. 

Edit cascading style sheet (CSS). This feature is for experienced web developers. 

Hyperlinks

Select text or an object, then click the link function to add a new hyperlink or edit an existing hyperlink. To remove a link, select it and click the remove link button. The link must be a valid web address beginning with http://.

In the Target drop-down list, select Open in a New Window.‚Äč

Add Images

Click the Insert / Edit Image button to embed an image in the text area or edit an existing selected image. 

You can add common image types, such as GIF, JPG, PNG, and TIF.

On the General tab, to upload a file from your computer, click Browse My Computer.

Add Mashups

A mashup combines elements from two or more sources. When you view a YouTube video in a MyBeckett module as part of the module content, that's a mashup

1. Click the insert mashup function to display a drop-down list and select from the following:

  • Flickr Photo

  • YouTube Video

2. Search for content, then set your viewing and presentation options.

3. Choose No for the Show YouTube Information option.

4. Click the preview button to see how the mashup will appear in the content item. Close the preview window to make changes. When you're satisfied with the selection and options, click Submit to continue or Cancel to abort adding the mashup.

Maths Editor

Allows you to create and manage formulas in your module. It features: Basic operations, Matrix calculus, Calculus and series, Logic and set theory, Units, Greek alphabet.

To learn more, please read the WIRIS website user manual. The manual provides a list of all icons available in the tabs.

Discussion Boards

Discussion Boards

This guide explains what Discussion Boards, Forums and Threads are and what they can be used for within the context of your module. It also explains how to create a thread and edit / delete posts (if the option is available).

What are Discussion Boards?

They're a way for students and staff to discuss topics, structure or specific tasks related to the module. They can be used to raise issues about things you may be unsure about or struggling with on your module / course, to inform tutors / lecturers of mistakes, or for engaging in collaborative exercises that you may need to contribute to. They can be set up to be marked, so you may be assessed on your contributions.

Key Terminology

  • Discussion Board – Your overall area for discussions. You may encounter two types of Discussion Boards - Course Discussion Boards and Group Discussion Boards.

  • Forum – Your top-level discussion topic. ONLY lecturers / tutors can create a forum

  • Thread – The next level down from forums. When your tutor creates a forum, they may give you the ability to create your own threads or choose to create them themselves.

  • Comment – Can be made by anyone on the course and are typically replies to threads.

 

How do I use them?

1. In your MyBeckett Modules tab and select the module which you want to start or contribute to a discussion in.

2. Click on the Discussions link on the left side module navigation menu (it may have been renamed by your tutor/course leader/administrator e.g. Forum.

3. You'll see the following image.

4. Click the Forum name to enter it.

5. You'll see the Forum screen.

You can Create, Subscribe to, Search or Display (view) threads of the discussion. If the instructor hasn't allowed you to create threads, this option won't appear.

Click the name of the thread to access and comment on it. You can also edit the structure of forum threads with Edit Paging

Mark and Flag posts using the Thread Actions or collect all responses / comments for print using Collect.

6. Click the name of the thread if you want to view / comment / edit it.

7. Click a thread topic to open an editing screen

8. You can Flag or Mark posts to indicate important comments or highlight unread sections.

9. To reply to a comment or discussion topic, click Reply, type a comment and / or attach a file, then click Submit.

10. You can Quote authors if you want to respond to a particular topic or section of their comment/ thread. Click Quote, add in your own comments, then click Submit.

11. You can email the author of the comment by clicking Email Author. E.g. to ask them to remove it or ask them a question.

 

Subscribe to a forum

1. To follow a discussion or be updated when people comment, you can subscribe to forums. Select a forum and click the Subscribe button.

2. A confirmation message appears.

3. An email is sent to your student email address confirming your subscription. When posts are added by tutors or students you'll receive an email from Blackboard Administrator.

4. To unsubscribe, go back to where you clicked Subscribe. There's now an Unsubscribe button in its place. Click it to be removed from the mailing list.

Wikis - create / edit a Wiki

Wikis - create / edit a Wiki

Wikis allow you to communicate and collaborate with either all of your peers in a module, or a group of your peers from within the module. You may be asked to do this as part of an assessment.

There are two different ways Wikis can be accessed depending on how they've been set up by your tutor.

Module Wiki

This type of Wiki allows anyone studying the module to contribute. Enter the module and locate the Wiki icon (see image below). If you can't locate it you'll need to contact your module tutor to ask them if they're using it and if so, where it's located.

Sub-Group Wiki

1. Enter your Sub-Group. This may be under the My Sub-Groups in the module navigation menu, or it may be in a content area. If you can't find it, please contact your module tutor to confirm the location.

2. Inside the Sub-Group you'll see a list of Properties, Tools and Assignments. Access the Sub-Group Wiki from the Sub-group Tools section.

Create a Wiki page

1. The first time you access a Wiki you may be asked to create a new homepage. Or, your tutor may have already created a page which contains info about what they expect from the Wiki.

2. If you're asked to create a new homepage, enter a name and the contents of the homepage in the relevant boxes. These can be changed at any time by editing the page.

3. Click Submit.

4. You'll be taken to the Wiki editor.

5. Click the Create Wiki Page button.

6. Give the page a name and add some content. Click Submit when you're finished.

7. You can navigate between pages using the Wiki Details menu on the right of the page.

Edit a Wiki page

1. On the page you want to edit, click either the Edit Wiki Content button or click the arrow next to the page name and click Edit.

2. The Wiki editor opens. Make your changes, then click Submit.

3. The changes are shown in the Wiki editor.

View Change History

A Wiki allows you to view edits made to a specific page.

1. Find the page in the Wiki Details menu on the right, click the arrow next to the page, click History.

2. You're shown a list of page versions.

3. Click a title to view different versions of a page.

4. To compare changes between two versions, tick the box to the left of the version names and click Compare Versions.

5. You're shown the versions with page changes highlighted.

Wikis - add / delete comments

Wikis - add / delete comments

Add a comment

1. Open the page you want to comment on and click the Comment button at the bottom.

2. This opens a text box. Type a comment and click Add.

3. Your comment is displayed at the bottom of the page.

Delete a comment

1. View the comments by clicking the Comments link under a page. This displays all comments that have been added.

2. Click the red x icon and confirm that you want to delete.

3. The comment is removed.

Help and support for Franchise Students