The Library

Welcome to Franchise Students

Discover

Search Discover

Help with Discover

Discover is your academic search engine. You can use Discover to find journal articles and original academic research

Help with Referencing

Skills for Learning provide information on the Harvard referencing system, including how to reference a variety of different formats and media.

MyBeckett Help

Need help using MyBeckett? Our Franchise Student guides help you to get started.

Use of material within the law

Use of these Services and Material is subject to the terms and conditions of the individual Licence Agreements signed by Leeds Beckett University.

Material in our subscription databases is protected by copyright and other intellectual property rights. By accessing the Services and Material you accept the Licence terms and conditions and agree that you are bound by them

More details about these Agreements.

Help and support for Franchise Students

Databases

eBooks A-Z

Open access resources for franchise students

Cross-subject resources

EThOS (Electronic Theses Online service)

EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. EThOS aims to provide a national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions. It also aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research. You can search the EThOS database without having to register. You do, however, need to register and log in if you want to download a thesis from EThOS or to order digitisation of a thesis.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Journals for Free

A directory of open access journals and journals with some kind of open access to their materials.

‚Äč

Reference and Statistics

UK Data Service

A single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.

OneLook: dictionary search

A search engine which indexes web-based dictionaries. More than 19 million words in more than 1,000 online dictionaries are indexed by the OneLook® search engine.

Social Trends

Social Trends draws together social and economic data from a wide range of sources; it paints a broad picture of UK society today, and how it has been changing.

Accounting and Finance

AccountingWEB

Resource for UK accountants and accountancy professionals. Register for:

  • Free access to all of AccountingWEB’s independent content
  • Comment and post questions on the site
  • Get practical advice from our community of 90,000 accountants and financial managers in the UK
  • Receive regular email updates with all the latest news and features
  • Create a personal blog or discussion group to share with the community
  • Expert advice and guides on essential topics

CIMA - Chartered Institute of Management Accountants

CIMA offers links to professional information, events, employers, etc and also support for CIMA students; plus a list of further useful sites.

Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales

Major professional body – many useful links; there is a student area on the site.

Architecture and Landscape

AJ

From The Architects' Journal, but far more. Architecture news updated daily, and information on companies, buildings, design and products. Reports and case studies with plans and drawings. Free registration.

Architectural Record

Supplements the monthly magazine with expanded multimedia project stories, in-depth interviews with giants of architecture, daily news updates, weekly book reviews, green architecture stories and archival material, as well as links to people and products.

Architonic

An independent gateway to architecture and design information and videos. Contains sections on news and trends, products and material, people, and industry news.

Bdonline

Bdonline is made by the publishers of Building Design magazine and provides around the clock news, videos, blogs, culture, reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world.

Inhabit

Devoted to the future of design, tracking the innovations in technology, practices and materials that are pushing architecture and home design towards a smarter and more sustainable future.

RIBA

Website of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes a directory of all RIBA's members, their Library Catalogue, online exhibitions and information portals on topics such as sustainability.

Art and Design

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)

This is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.

Google image search

Google analyses associated text, not just the file names or picture credits, so it is good at finding relevant images.

V&A Images

Here you can peruse 27,000 works and over 43,000 images from the V&A collections. These are provided free for educational use. 

Wellcome Images

Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use and it's great for social history, medical or scientific images.

Building and Construction

Abacus Construction Index

Abacus Construction Index brings together in one place recommended sources of information and advice about architecture and construction in the USA and the UK. It incorporates Archinet UK.

Architectural Record

Supplements the monthly magazine with expanded multimedia project stories, in-depth interviews with giants of architecture, daily news updates, weekly book reviews, green architecture stories and archival material, as well as links to people and products.

Bdonline

Bdonline is made by the publishers of Building Design magazine and provides around the clock news, videos, blogs, culture, reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world.

NBS Educator 

This site is designed for use by construction industry students, lecturers and professionals who need to understand contract documentation, such as specifications and schedules of work.

RIBA

Website of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes a directory of all RIBA's members, their Library Catalogue, online exhibitions and information portals on topics such as sustainability.

Virtual Training Suite

A free online service providing access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. Guides include Civil Engineering, Architecture, Environment and Geography.

Business and Management

Biz/ed

Business Education on the Internet offers on-line access to economics and business resources on the Internet and hosts information sources not found anywhere else in the UK.

Business Week

Website providing business news, trends and profiles of successful businesspeople.

International Business Resources

A directory of resources which allows you to find information ranging from culture and economic information to Trade Tutorials, Trade Law and Statistical Data Sources.

Management and Business Studies Portal

Collection of full text research reports, summaries, working papers, videos and exclusive articles by leading researchers. MBS is pulling some materials related to business (some of these materials in the form of 'content' eg fulltext and some at reference only level) from elsewhere / other places / other information services eg Ethos e-dissertations service ) and putting into this service. Idea is to create an 'expert list' or expert collection of business. Also, it is acting as a sort of repository - where users can submit their own material for inclusion to MBS.

Engineering

The Engineer Source

Daily updates and news releases from engineering suppliers, including electronics companies.

Health

Cochrane Library

Free (within England & Wales) information database covering abstracts and full text of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare from around the world. It also contains a bibliography of controlled trials; a bibliography of articles and books on the science of research synthesis; a register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions; information on healthcare technology assessments and the full text of systematic reviews of empirical methodological studies.

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)

The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.

PLoS (Public Library of Science)

Open-access publications in science and medicine. Advocate for freely available research communication.

PubMed

Freely available search tool covering over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

ScienceBlogs

From climate change to intelligent design, HIV/AIDS to stem cells, science education to space exploration, science is figuring prominently in our discussions of politics, religion, philosophy, business and the arts. ScienceBlogs is a portal to this global dialogue, a digital science salon featuring the leading bloggers from a wide array of scientific disciplines.

Social Care Online (Was called CareData)

UK's most complete range of information and research on all aspects of social care. Includes information about all aspects of social care, from fostering, to mental health, to human resources.

Hospitality and Retailing

BBC Food

Hundreds of recipes, pages of advice, vegan and vegetarian section, video clips, product information.

Biz/ed

A website for students and academic staff in the Business and Travel and Tourism subject areas. It contains company information, statistical data, learning materials and glossaries.

The British Nutrition Foundation

The Foundation promotes the nutritional well-being of society through the impartial interpretation and effective dissemination of scientifically based nutritional knowledge and advice.

Food Science Central

A link to free and subscription-based information relating to the world of food science, food technology and food-related human nutrition.

Food Standards Agency

The FSA carries out a range of work to make sure food is safe to eat, including funding research on chemical, microbiological and radiological safety, as well as food hygiene and allergy.

Virtual Training Suite: hospitality and catering

Internet tutorial to help you develop research skills and find quality resources for hospitality and catering.

Human Geography, Housing and Planning

Eldis

Website providing access to more than 26,000 summarised documents from over 7,500 development organisations - all available free to download.

Virtual Training Suite

A free online service providing access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. Guides include Civil Engineering, Architecture, Environment and Geography.

Property & Building Directory

Architecture, Planning & Landscape Information Gateway - a global gateway for information and a forum for its exchange, centred around more than 1,100 reviewed links to architecture, planning and landscape-related websites. These reviews are organised into thirteen themed Gateways - Architecture, Construction, Culture, Heritage, Housing, Interior Design, Landscape, Planning, Regeneration, Sustainability, Transport, Urban Design and Other Information Resources.

Human Resources Management

HRM Guide

The HRM Guide is a series of linked websites containing hundreds of free Human Resource Management-related articles and features.

European Industrial Relations Observatory (EIRO)

This site contains information and analysis on events in industrial relations in Europe.

CSR Professional Services Directory  

This directory is produced by Ethical Performance and is free to use online. It is the definitive one-stop reference source to who's who among corporate responsibility service providers around the world, listing 685 providers under 60 categories.

CSR Europe 

The leading European business network for corporate social responsibility with around 75 multinational coporations and 27 national partner organisations as members.

Ethical Performance

Ethical performance contains reports and news stories on best practice ethical initiatives from across the world.

CoporateRegister.com 

The primary reference point for corporate responsibility (CR) reports and resources worldwide. The majority of content is available free of charge as a service to the global CR stakeholder community.

Business in the Community 

Works with business to build a sustainable future for people and planet..... and provides a framework to support and challenge business to improve its performance and benefit society through our four areas of expertise – community, environment, workplace and marketplace.'

Law

Eagle-i Internet Portal for Law

Helps legal researchers find relevant information on the Internet - providing insight into authoritative web resources and the most reliable sites and materials. Coverage includes: UK, European, Foreign, Comparative and International law.

Delia Venables Legal Resources

Well regarded legal gateway site. It is split into the following sections aimed at specific audiences, Information for Individuals, Information for Students, Information for Companies, Information for Lawyers.

Hieros Gamos

A very comprehensive site providing links to worldwide information on the legal profession, including links to electronic journals, law directories and others. Many sources are full text.

Info4Lawyers

A publishing company providing electronic publishing products and services for the legal market. The Web site includes browse-able indexes of the UK legal Web. Includes articles on the Internet by Nick Holmes originally published in the Solicitors Journal.

LAWLINKS: Legal Information on the Internet

Maintained by the Templeman Law Library at the University of Kent at Canterbury to help students and others find their way around legal resources on the internet.