Discover is your academic search engine. You can use Discover to find journal articles and original academic research
Skills for Learning provide information on the Harvard referencing system, including how to reference a variety of different formats and media.
Need help using MyBeckett? Our Franchise Student MyBeckett guides help you to get started.
Use of these Services and Material is subject to the terms and conditions of the individual Licence Agreements signed by Leeds Beckett University.
Material in our subscription databases is protected by copyright and other intellectual property rights. By accessing the Services and Material you accept the Licence terms and conditions and agree that you are bound by them.
Contains the full content of over 180 law textbooks from Oxford University Press.
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. It provides information on a range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, social sciences and more.
Full text for more than 2,300 journals, half of which are peer-reviewed. Full text goes back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Subjects include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. This database is updated daily.
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 2,500 journals indexed in CINAHL. The subjects covered in this database include speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
The DOAJ provides free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals from around the world. There are over 19,000 open access titles, covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
For access to Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier, SPORTDiscus with full text and many more databases. If you encounter an error "This page isn't working" please clear browser cache/cookies or use an alternative browser.
Provides access to almost 3-million full text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications, including journal articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, and related materials in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, and allied fields.
A regularly updated, digitized journal archive providing you with a wide range of scholarly content. A key resource for Humanities and Social Sciences. This is an archive so the current issues will not be available straight away, but you will always get from volume 1, issue 1 for every journal title.
Leeds Beckett subscribes to the Arts and Sciences Collection I, II and III, which covers archaeology, classical studies, economics, geography, history, language, music, performing and visual arts, political science, sociology.
Full text access to over 380 Sage Publication titles subscribed to by The Library mainly in the social sciences, including titles on law (mainly crime and criminal justice), business, humanities, science, technology and medicine.
Collection of eBooks and ejournals which mainly covers the subject areas of: Computer Science, Engineering, Business, Management and Accounting, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Health Sciences and Psychology.
Publishers of scholarly journals, books, eBooks, reference works, and databases, the content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Database of references to some books and journal articles taken from a wide variety of subject areas. Full text access is only available to some 400 of the thousands of publications listed. You can only see the full text of those items that have an open lock symbol next to them. If no such symbol appears you do not have full text access.
Well regarded legal gateway site. It is split into the following sections aimed at specific audiences, Information for Individuals, Information for Students, Information for Companies, Information for Lawyers.
A very comprehensive site providing links to worldwide information on the legal profession, including links to electronic journals, law directories and others. Many sources are full text.
A publishing company providing electronic publishing products and services for the legal market. The Web site includes browse-able indexes of the UK legal Web. Includes articles on the Internet by Nick Holmes originally published in the Solicitors Journal.
Maintained by the Templeman Law Library at the University of Kent at Canterbury to help students and others find their way around legal resources on the internet
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. EThOS aims to provide a national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions. It also aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research. You can search the EThOS database without having to register. You do, however, need to register and log in if you want to download a thesis from EThOS or to order digitisation of a thesis.
An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
A directory of open access journals and journals with some kind of open access to their materials.
A single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
A search engine which indexes web-based dictionaries. More than 19 million words in more than 1,000 online dictionaries are indexed by the OneLook® search engine.
Social Trends draws together social and economic data from a wide range of sources; it paints a broad picture of UK society today, and how it has been changing.
Resource for UK accountants and accountancy professionals. Register for:
CIMA offers links to professional information, events, employers, etc and also support for CIMA students; plus a list of further useful sites.
Major professional body – many useful links; there is a student area on the site.
From The Architects' Journal, but far more. Architecture news updated daily, and information on companies, buildings, design and products. Reports and case studies with plans and drawings. Free registration.
Supplements the monthly magazine with expanded multimedia project stories, in-depth interviews with giants of architecture, daily news updates, weekly book reviews, green architecture stories and archival material, as well as links to people and products.
An independent gateway to architecture and design information and videos. Contains sections on news and trends, products and material, people, and industry news.
Bdonline is made by the publishers of Building Design magazine and provides around the clock news, videos, blogs, culture, reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world.
Devoted to the future of design, tracking the innovations in technology, practices and materials that are pushing architecture and home design towards a smarter and more sustainable future.
Website of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes a directory of all RIBA's members, their Library Catalogue, online exhibitions and information portals on topics such as sustainability.
This is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.
Google analyses associated text, not just the file names or picture credits, so it is good at finding relevant images.
Here you can peruse 27,000 works and over 43,000 images from the V&A collections. These are provided free for educational use.
Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use and it's great for social history, medical or scientific images.
Supplements the monthly magazine with expanded multimedia project stories, in-depth interviews with giants of architecture, daily news updates, weekly book reviews, green architecture stories and archival material, as well as links to people and products.
Bdonline is made by the publishers of Building Design magazine and provides around the clock news, videos, blogs, culture, reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world.
This site is designed for use by construction industry students, lecturers and professionals who need to understand contract documentation, such as specifications and schedules of work.
Website of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes a directory of all RIBA's members, their Library Catalogue, online exhibitions and information portals on topics such as sustainability.
Business Education on the Internet offers on-line access to economics and business resources on the Internet and hosts information sources not found anywhere else in the UK.
Website providing business news, trends and profiles of successful businesspeople.
A directory of resources which allows you to find information ranging from culture and economic information to Trade Tutorials, Trade Law and Statistical Data Sources.
Collection of full text research reports, summaries, working papers, videos and exclusive articles by leading researchers. MBS is pulling some materials related to business (some of these materials in the form of 'content' eg fulltext and some at reference only level) from elsewhere / other places / other information services eg Ethos e-dissertations service ) and putting into this service. Idea is to create an 'expert list' or expert collection of business. Also, it is acting as a sort of repository - where users can submit their own material for inclusion to MBS.
Free (within England & Wales) information database covering abstracts and full text of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare from around the world. It also contains a bibliography of controlled trials; a bibliography of articles and books on the science of research synthesis; a register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions; information on healthcare technology assessments and the full text of systematic reviews of empirical methodological studies.
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
Open-access publications in science and medicine. Advocate for freely available research communication.
Freely available search tool covering over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
From climate change to intelligent design, HIV/AIDS to stem cells, science education to space exploration, science is figuring prominently in our discussions of politics, religion, philosophy, business and the arts. ScienceBlogs is a portal to this global dialogue, a digital science salon featuring the leading bloggers from a wide array of scientific disciplines.
UK's most complete range of information and research on all aspects of social care. Includes information about all aspects of social care, from fostering, to mental health, to human resources.
Hundreds of recipes, pages of advice, vegan and vegetarian section, video clips, product information.
A website for students and academic staff in the Business and Travel and Tourism subject areas. It contains company information, statistical data, learning materials and glossaries.
The Foundation promotes the nutritional well-being of society through the impartial interpretation and effective dissemination of scientifically based nutritional knowledge and advice.
A link to free and subscription-based information relating to the world of food science, food technology and food-related human nutrition.
The FSA carries out a range of work to make sure food is safe to eat, including funding research on chemical, microbiological and radiological safety, as well as food hygiene and allergy.
Website providing access to more than 26,000 summarised documents from over 7,500 development organisations - all available free to download.
Architecture, Planning & Landscape Information Gateway - a global gateway for information and a forum for its exchange, centred around more than 1,100 reviewed links to architecture, planning and landscape-related websites. These reviews are organised into thirteen themed Gateways - Architecture, Construction, Culture, Heritage, Housing, Interior Design, Landscape, Planning, Regeneration, Sustainability, Transport, Urban Design and Other Information Resources.
The HRM Guide is a series of linked websites containing hundreds of free Human Resource Management-related articles and features.
The leading European business network for corporate social responsibility with around 75 multinational coporations and 27 national partner organisations as members.
Ethical performance contains reports and news stories on best practice ethical initiatives from across the world.
The primary reference point for corporate responsibility (CR) reports and resources worldwide. The majority of content is available free of charge as a service to the global CR stakeholder community.
Works with business to build a sustainable future for people and planet..... and provides a framework to support and challenge business to improve its performance and benefit society through our four areas of expertise – community, environment, workplace and marketplace.