The Library

MyBeckett

What is MyBeckett?

MyBeckett is your portal to online learning, services, communications and resources at Leeds Beckett University.

Your course modules and timetable, learning resources and course announcements are available in MyBeckett. Your tutors may also post lecture notes, assessment briefs / submission points / feedback and open discussion boards for you.

Having trouble logging in? View our guide or Contact Us using the details on the right of this page.

Get started

Essential browsers, software and network connection info

To ensure compatibility with MyBeckett you need to install some software. You may already have the software but it's important that you have the latest version.

Google Chrome

We recommend you use Google Chrome as your web browser. Google Chrome is a fast, stable browser and can be downloaded / installed through the Google Store.

Other web browsers

You may use other browsers e.g. Internet Explorer, Firefox and Safari (Apple Mac). MyBeckett browser support information can be found on our supplier's website and you can test your browser using our supplier's browser checker.

We recommend you install multiple browsers. If you have any issues displaying web pages, switching to another browser often provides a quick workaround.

Java

Some parts of MyBeckett need the latest version of Java to work. Please download Java and follow the on screen instructions.

After downloading, install the program. Run this test to check that Java is installed and working properly on your computer.

Adobe Acrobat Reader

Some documents in modules are only available in PDF format. You need to install Acrobat Reader (or similar PDF reader software) to open them.

Make sure you untick the optional McAfee offer box, click the Install Now icon and follow the on screen instructions.

Adobe Flash Player

You need to download this to access some of the interactive features in MyBeckett. Please follow the on screen instructions.

Home network connections

When using MyBeckett on a home computer, bear in mind that your network connection speed has an impact on responsiveness.

Recommended connection speed: Minimum 2Mbps for a reasonable user experience when downloading / uploading files or playing video / audio.

MyBeckett will work on slower connections: 0.2Mbps to 2Mbps albeit with slow download and upload speeds which affect the quality of video / audio.

Accessibility

Please view Blackboard help for accessibility information.

Log in to MyBeckett

Username and password

You can access MyBeckett from any computer with an Internet connection. You must have a valid username and password. It's the same one you use to access University computers. Your Username is printed on your Campus Card and your password is provided in welcome packs or via the Welcome system.

Usernames are typically 8 characters in length (e.g. c1234567). Your password is case sensitive so check that Caps Lock on your keyboard is off when you log in.

Log in

You can log in directly through the MyBeckett login page – https://my.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/

Follow the on screen instructions for Leeds Beckett Staff and Students.

If you're a CLL, Star and Punch Taverns or Lincolnshire Council user, follow the instructions for your user type.

Still can't log in?

Username types and links to specific support for your user type:

Navigate the MyBeckett Portal

When you log in you'll see the the Get Started tab if you're a new student or the Course tab if you're a returning student. Use the tabs near the top of the page to navigate to the different areas (described below).

Get Started

This tab is only shown to new students for the first six weeks of study. It features a Get Started Checklist, a Video Induction to MyBeckett and your Google Email.

Course

This is a new tab, designed to to make your Course and School info and communications available in one place.. It features:

  • My Groups. Your tutors use these to provide content for a large number of students in the same School, on the same Course, or at the same level of a Course.
  • University and Course Announcements. The University and your tutors post important messages here related to your Course and University events.
  • Course Contacts. View a list of important contacts e.g. Student Administrators.
  • Course Handbooks contain a description of your course, your course specification and vital info about assignment submission and mitigation.
  • Library Subject Support. Contains specific Library resources for your course.
  • SU Course Reps. Provides access to your Student Union's Course Rep system, Unioncloud
  • Tweets. A feed showing all tweets sent by the University.

Modules

You can access all modules you're enrolled on during the most recent three years of your course. If your modules don’t appear, contact your student administrator (use Course Contacts in the Course tab). This tab also provides Academic Regulations, past Exam Papers, availability of our Learning Systems e.g. MyBeckett, Turnitin, PebblePad and Results Online, which allows you to view your assessment results.

Timetables

View your timetable online for the current semester. Also includes Timetable News, the University's Academic Calendar and Exam Timetables.

Files

Access your University personal (P:) and shared (S:) drives on and off campus using Web Files, or your University Google Drive account.

Library

Use Discover to find Library resources, Search / Access The Library website, view and Manage your Library Account e.g. track the items you have on loan, outstanding bills, fines and overdue books as well as find your Library PIN, read Library Tweets, access Library HelpBook a Student Meeting RoomImprove your Academic Skills with Skills for Learning and more.

IT Support

Includes access to student IT Help, your Student EmailMicrosoft Office Advantage (get a free account for the duration of your study), SPSS software for stats analysis, University PC Availability showing you where you can find an available PC anywhere on campus, eduroam - the University's wireless network, i-Print account top-up and print from your own computer facilities, the Password Manager and more.

Research

This tab is specifically aimed at Research students, so you'll only see it if you're engaged in Research at Leeds Beckett. It features the ability to Check a Thesis Chapter with TurnitinAccess Your PebblePad PortfolioBook on Training for Researchers, access Research and PhD Support from the Library and more.

Employability

View the Employability Services website and resources, access myHub and / or view vacancy feeds to find Part Time and Graduate employment opportunities, view @BeckettCareers TweetsSearch the Student Hub, and Develop Your Employability Skills using myCareer.

If you're doing a placement year you can use myHub to find placement opportunities, Manage Your Placement using InPlace and Access Your PebblePad Portfolio to reflect on your placement.

My Account

Change Your Password for all student IT systems, Pay an Invoice or Fees online, view and Update Your Personal Information, print your Council Tax Discount letter and Re-Book University Halls for Next Year.

SU

Displays Articles and Events posted by your Student Union, as well as info about SocietiesVolunteering, the Student Union Advice ServiceStudent Bright Ideas and more.

Contains links to Library HelpLearning Systems Help - MyBeckett, Turnitin, PebblePad, Google Apps, Disability Support, the QuickScan quiz which helps you to find your learning style, the Student Hub and the Staff Contacts Directory which can help you to find your tutor / admin team contact details.

Alumni

This tab only appears when you're leaving the University. It contains important Now that you're leaving... info which tells you what you need to do to retain your submissions and accounts (where possible) after you leave. It also features info about Postgraduate study (Stay with us after your course), Careers and Employability SupportAlumni Services and more.

Modules - can't see your modules?

First, check that you've completed all tasks in the Welcome system. If you haven't, there's a good chance that MyBeckett won't have been told which course you're on, so it doesn't know which modules to display.

If you've done that and nothing changes within 2 hours, please contact your Student Administrator, who can investigate your enrolments in the University student record system (Banner). If you don’t know who your Student Administrator is, please ask your tutor.

Can’t see your module content?

Please ask your Tutor where to find it. Tutors set up modules, so they can tell you where to look.

If you've tried all of the above and are still having trouble, please contact us. Our contact details are at the top right of this page.

Course Groups - what are they?

Introduction

Course Groups are a way for your tutors to provide content for a large number of students in the same School, on the same Course, or at the same level of a Course. You’ll probably see the students on your level in your lectures / lab sessions etc.

Location

Check out your Course Groups to see what’s in there. You can find them listed on the Course tab in MyBeckett.

Change your profile picture

1. Log in to MyBeckett and at the top right, click on your name.

2. You'll see a navigation menu. Click Settings at the bottom of the menu.

3. In the Settings section, click Personal Information.

4. Click Personalise My Settings.

5. To add an Avatar Image, click the Browse My Computer button, find an image and click Open.

 

6. You'll be able to see the attached file and the Display Options will auto select Use custom avatar image.

7. Click Submit to upload the image. Please Note: You can remove the image by changing the Display Options to Do not display avatar image.

 

8. Your avatar changes to your chosen image.

Mobile apps

Use the new Leeds Beckett University student app

New University student app

Our new student mobile app provides access to your online learning tools along with info and functionality to support all areas of student life from health and wellbeing to social events, from transport to food. It also enables you to automatically sign in to your lectures and tutorials, replacing the previous paper-based registers that were taken by your tutors. To download the app, please choose your device's operating system from the list below:

BB Student - access MyBeckett modules on a mobile device

BB Student - access your modules on a mobile device

The Blackboard Student app allows you to access your Modules and Course Groups on a variety of devices. To download the app, please choose your device’s operating system from the list below:

Google Apps - access your email and documents

Google Apps - access your email and documents

You need to use your student email to communicate with the University. All module announcements and emails sent by tutors will go to your student email, so if you don't check it, you’re missing important info. To download the app for your device, please choose your device's operating system from the list below:

Please view our guides for more info about setting up your student email.

PebblePocket - update your portfolio

PebblePocket - update your portfolio

If you use PebblePad as part of your course, download the free PebblePad Mobile app, PebblePocket. It lets you quickly create assets on the go, edit and save mobile assets on your device and send them to your PebblePad asset store. To download the app, please choose your device's operating system form the list below:

Adobe Connect - attend online webinars and virtual classes

Adobe Connect - attend online events

Some tutors run online tutorials, meetings or webinars as part of your course, for students to attend. If this applies to you, download the app - please choose your device’s operating system from the list below:

Assessment

Assignment Survival guide

Everything you need to know to get you through your online assessment submissions.

Which Browser?

  • Speed up your web browsing, save yourself time.

  • We recommend you use Google Chrome as your primary web browser. Chrome is a fast browser and is kept up to date by Google, reducing the number and effect of compatibility issues.

  • Although we recommend Chrome, no web browser is perfect. We suggest you install multiple browsers e.g. Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox or Safari (Apple Mac).

Wired over Wireless

Wi-Fi is great for catching up on Netflix, but Wireless connections are prone to various connectivity issues when submitting marked assignments or large files (video files).

We always recommend that you use a wired connection when submitting work.

Many devices in a shared house may share the same bandwidth which will slow down your connection. Gaming, video streaming and downloading files all contribute to this network load.

Try not to submit at peak usage times (10:30- 13:30) and if multiple people are submitting in the house, consider staggering your submissions.

Consider taking a trip to the Library as the computers on campus enjoy faster upload speeds than most home PCs. If you're submitting large files (e.g. video files), we strongly recommend submitting from one of our fast, wired connections here at the University.

A table of average upload speeds for different file sizes is displayed below. This should only be taken as a rough guide, but it does give you a basic idea of how long you can expect to wait:

Equipment / connection

40Mb file (Turnitin)

300Mb

1Gb

University wired desktop

2 seconds

30 seconds

2 minutes

Home wired PC/Mac

30 seconds

5 minutes

15 minutes

Home Wi-Fi PC/Mac

5 minutes

50 minutes

3 hours

Hand-in Time, Time In-hand

When it comes to technology, if it can go wrong, there's always a chance it will. So hope for the best, but plan for the worst. Leave yourself plenty of time to submit your assignments and potentially to contact help or support staff if something goes wrong.

Why not use the Skills for Learning assignment calculator to work out how long it's going to take you to complete an assignment?

The Learning Systems Team is available 09:00- 17:00 GMT Monday - Friday

The Help and Information Point on the ground floor of both Headingley and City Libraries is open from 08:30 - 19:00 Monday - Friday GMT and provides additional support outside of usual office hours. If you need help, our contact details are at the top right of this page.

Your submission

There are two main types of online submission. This is what they look like in MyBeckett:

Blackboard assignment (top) and Turnitin assignment (bottom)

  • The two types of submission dropbox have different technical requirements in terms of file type / size / submission process etc. Please view our how to submit Turnitin or Blackboard (on this page) guides for more info.

Digital Receipts

When you submit a Blackboard or Turnitin assignment, you can see proof that you've submitted. This is called a submission receipt and both types are explained below:

Turnitin
  • How do I get a Turnitin receipt? When you click Submit you'll be able to access your submitted paper and download / print your proof of submission. Your tutor can also see this. Check out our guide.

  • What's on my Turnitin receipt? It includes your NameSubmission File NameAssignment TitleTurnitin Class ID, Date and Time of Submission and a Unique Paper ID associated with your submission.

  • When do I get my receipt? You can download your receipt as soon as you've submitted, please see our guide.

  • What if I don't get a receipt? If you can't access your receipt using our guide, please contact us. Our contact details are at the top right of the page.

Blackboard
  • How do I get a Blackboard receipt? When you click Submit, you'll see a page with a brief summary of the assignment details and a date and time of submission. You'll get an email shortly, confirming your submission.

  • What's on my Blackboard receipt? The image below shows what the receipt looks like in your email inbox. It includes your NameAssignment NameAssignment IDModule IDDate and Time of Submission, a Unique Submission ID and links to all the submitted files.

  • When do I get my Blackboard Receipt? You should get it within five minutes. If you haven't received it within three hours, please contact us. Our contact details are at the top right of this page.

  • How do I find / download my submission? Go to the content area in the module you submitted the assignment to and follow the link to your submission.

  • What if I don't get a receipt? Try to download it using the instructions above, if you aren't able to do this, please contact us. Our contact details are at the top right of this page.

Worst case scenario…

Problem submitting? We suggest you try the following:

  • Screenshot any errors that you encounter

  • Record all problems somewhere so you can reference them to support staff later

  • Contact us - our contact details are at the top right of the page

  • If the issue concerns system downtime, read our What to do if MyBeckett is down? guide.

Submit a Blackboard Assignment (with video)

A Blackboard assignment is different to a Turnitin assignment, we have a separate guide for that. You can either watch the video or scroll down for a text guide.

1. In your module, locate the assignment your tutor has set up. Your tutor can tell you where this is.
2. When you've found it, click the assignment name to access it. It'll look something like this:

3. You'll see the Assignment nameInstructions and Due Date on the next page. The option to attach a file is further down. Click Browse My Computer to upload your assignment:

4. Locate your assignment file on your PC and click OK.
5. You'll see your assignment appear below, showing it's been attached.

6. Click Submit.

Submit a video

Introduction

We recommend to tutors that if assignments require a video submission, their students should upload the video to their student YouTube account and submit the URL rather than uploading the video directly to MyBeckett.

The reason for this is that YouTube auto converts the video into a file your tutor can view really easily. It saves your tutor time and it means that you don't have to worry about video encoding problems. 

This guide shows you how to submit your video's URL.

Record / transfer your video

First, you need to upload your video to YouTube. We have a separate guide for this. When you've done that, please follow these steps:

Submit the URL

1. Click on the Blackboard assignment icon to enter the assignment, then click Write Submission.

2. A new box appears. Enter a description of your video. You can also add comments about your video in the Add Comments box.

3. Open your YouTube video in a separate browser window and copy the URL for your video. You can do this using your mouse or, once selected, use the following keyboard commands:

  • Windows: CTRL+C to copy.

  • Mac: COMMAND+C to copy.

4. Go back to the Blackboard assignment submission page and highlight the description of your video. Then click the Insert/Edit Link icon.

5. In the Link Path box, paste the URL of the video you copied in step (4). You can do this using your mouse, or use the following keyboard commands to paste the selected URL:

  • Windows: CTRL+V to paste.

  • Mac: COMMAND+V to paste.

6. In the Target box, select Open in New Window (_blank).

7. In the Title box, enter a title for your video.

8. Leave the Class box as – Not Set –.

9. Click the Insert button.

10. You'll be taken back to the Upload Assignment page. Note that in the Assignment Submission section, there is now a hyperlink to your YouTube video. Click the Submit button to submit your assignment.

11. The Review Submission appears, with a green banner at the top informing you that your assignment was submitted.

The hyperlink to your YouTube video is also shown (click it to open your YouTube video). The title you gave it appears when you hover your mouse over the hyperlink, and the comment you added earlier appears on the right of the page.

Feedback - view your annotated comments

1. Log in to MyBeckett and access a module containing an assignment you previously submitted.

2. There are two ways you could access your feedback. If the assignment is still visible, click on the assignment name. The other way is to click Provisional Grades, which appears in the navigation menu on the left of the module.

3. Provisional Grades shows you any provisional grades / feedback that are available to you.

4. Click the assignment name for more feedback. Then click on View Rubric.

5. You'll see a submission review screen. This shows a preview of your upload (depending on the file type you uploaded) and any comments or feedback left through a rubric.

6. Click the individual comments under the Comments and Markups section to read a specific comment.

7. Click the 2x3 grid icon to view the Rubric. The icon is on the right of the screen.

8. The Rubric Detail page opens in a separate window. It allows you to see the criteria that you met and may also include personalised feedback depending on the way the Rubric has been set up.

9. If you prefer, you can view the Rubric as a list by clicking List View

Collaboration

Content Editor - post Blogs, Journals and Discussions

The Content Editor

The content editor allows you to add and format text, insert equations, hyperlinks and attach files to content.

It has two viewing modes: simple and advanced.

 

Simple Mode

Contains the most used formatting options. Click the show more  button (two downward arrows) to access advanced mode.

Advanced Mode

Contains every available formatting option. Click the show less  button (two upward arrows) to go back to simple mode.

Options not currently available are greyed out e.g. you can only apply or remove a hyperlink when you select something in the text box.

Don't lose your work!

If you're adding a long journal / blog / discussion / wiki entry you should type this in Microsoft Word or similar, and copy and paste your work into MyBeckett. This is so that in the event of internet connection issues, you don't lose everything you've typed.

Buttons - Row #1

Button

Description

Bold selected text.

Italicise selected text.

Underline selected text.

Strikethrough selected text.

Select paragraph style. Click down arrow next to current style to select from all available styles.

Select text font. Click down arrow next to current font to select from all available fonts.

Select text size. Click down arrow next to current font size to select from all available font sizes.

Create bulleted list. 

Create numbered list. 

Set text colour. Click down arrow to select a different text colour.

Set text highlights (background) colour. Click down arrow to select a different highlight colour.

Open a preview window showing how content will appear after submitting.

Open context editor help window.

Expand content editor window to fill the entire browser.


Buttons - Row #2

Button 

Description

Cut selected items.

Copy selected items.

Paste most recently copied or cut items.

Search for and replace text.

Undo previous action.

Redo previous action (available only if an action has been undone).

Align text to left margin.

Align text centrally.

Align text to right.

Align text to both left and right margins (justified).

Move text or object to the right (indent). Click again to indent further.

Move text or object to the left. Click again to indent further. You can't go beyond the left margin.

Make text superscript.

Make text subscript.

Add new or edit existing hyperlink. 

Remove hyperlink from selected text or object.

Enter text to right of current mouse pointer location (default).

Enter text to left of current mouse pointer location.

Add thin horizontal line to current mouse pointer position, spanning the entire width of text area.

Add thin centered line, setting width, height relative to current mouse pointer position, and whether to use shadows. 

Insert non-breaking space character at current mouse pointer position.

Automatic spell check. Click down arrow to select a different language.

Buttons - Row #3

Button

Description

Record video from your webcam and insert into the content area.

Attach file. Accepted file types: DOC, DOCX, EXE, HTML, HTM, PDF, PPT, PPTX, PPS, PPSX, TXT, XLS, XLSX, & ZIP. 

Embed image or edit existing image. You can add these file types: GIF, JPG, PNG, and TIF.

Embed media clip or edit existing selected media object. From the Type drop-down list, select media type. If you're not sure which one to use, upload the media to your student YouTube channel and either hyperlink to it or add a mashup (below).

Open Maths Formula Editor.

Add mashup.

Click to show all non-printing characters. Click again to hide them from view.

Format text as a block quote.

Open select special character window. Select a symbol to insert.

Open Insert Emoticon window. Select an emoticon to insert.

Position the mouse pointer where you want the anchor to appear and click to open the Insert/Edit Anchor window. Use anchors to position (anchor) other items and objects, such as images. 

Open preview window so you can see how the content will appear after publishing.

Open Insert/Edit Table window. 

Open Table Row Properties window.

Open Table Cell Properties window.

Insert blank row in table above current mouse pointer position.

Insert blank row in table below current mouse pointer position.

Delete current row from table. If you select multiple rows, all are deleted.

Insert blank column in table to left of the current mouse pointer position.

Insert blank column in table to right of the current mouse pointer position.

Delete current column from the table. If you select multiple columns, all are deleted.

Merge two or more selected table cells into a single cell.

Split previously merged table cells. If the cell or cells are not ones that were merged, nothing happens.

Open HTML Code View. You can directly edit HTML code. This feature is for experienced web developers. 

Edit cascading style sheet (CSS). This feature is for experienced web developers. 

Hyperlinks

Select text or an object, then click the link function to add a new hyperlink or edit an existing hyperlink. To remove a link, select it and click the remove link button. The link must be a valid web address beginning with http://.

In the Target drop-down list, select Open in a New Window.‚Äč

Add Images

Click the Insert / Edit Image button to embed an image in the text area or edit an existing selected image. 

You can add common image types, such as GIF, JPG, PNG, and TIF.

On the General tab, to upload a file from your computer, click Browse My Computer.

Add Mashups

A mashup combines elements from two or more sources. When you view a YouTube video in a MyBeckett module as part of the module content, that's a mashup

1. Click the insert mashup function to display a drop-down list and select from the following:

  • Flickr Photo

  • YouTube Video

2. Search for content, then set your viewing and presentation options.

3. Choose No for the Show YouTube Information option.

4. Click the preview button to see how the mashup will appear in the content item. Close the preview window to make changes. When you're satisfied with the selection and options, click Submit to continue or Cancel to abort adding the mashup.

Maths Editor

Allows you to create and manage formulas in your module. It features: Basic operations, Matrix calculus, Calculus and series, Logic and set theory, Units, Greek alphabet.

To learn more, please read the WIRIS website user manual. The manual provides a list of all icons available in the tabs.

Discussion Boards

Discussion Boards

This guide explains what Discussion Boards, Forums and Threads are and what they can be used for within the context of your module. It also explains how to create a thread and edit / delete posts (if the option is available).

What are Discussion Boards?

They're a way for students and staff to discuss topics, structure or specific tasks related to the module. They can be used to raise issues about things you may be unsure about or struggling with on your module / course, to inform tutors / lecturers of mistakes, or for engaging in collaborative exercises that you may need to contribute to. They can be set up to be marked, so you may be assessed on your contributions.

Key Terminology

  • Discussion Board – Your overall area for discussions. You may encounter two types of Discussion Boards - Course Discussion Boards and Group Discussion Boards.

  • Forum – Your top-level discussion topic. ONLY lecturers / tutors can create a forum

  • Thread – The next level down from forums. When your tutor creates a forum, they may give you the ability to create your own threads or choose to create them themselves.

  • Comment – Can be made by anyone on the course and are typically replies to threads.

 

How do I use them?

1. In your MyBeckett Modules tab and select the module which you want to start or contribute to a discussion in.

2. Click on the Discussions link on the left side module navigation menu (it may have been renamed by your tutor/course leader/administrator e.g. Forum.

3. You'll see the following image.

4. Click the Forum name to enter it.

5. You'll see the Forum screen.

You can Create, Subscribe to, Search or Display (view) threads of the discussion. If the instructor hasn't allowed you to create threads, this option won't appear.

Click the name of the thread to access and comment on it. You can also edit the structure of forum threads with Edit Paging

Mark and Flag posts using the Thread Actions or collect all responses / comments for print using Collect.

6. Click the name of the thread if you want to view / comment / edit it.

7. Click a thread topic to open an editing screen

8. You can Flag or Mark posts to indicate important comments or highlight unread sections.

9. To reply to a comment or discussion topic, click Reply, type a comment and / or attach a file, then click Submit.

10. You can Quote authors if you want to respond to a particular topic or section of their comment/ thread. Click Quote, add in your own comments, then click Submit.

11. You can email the author of the comment by clicking Email Author. E.g. to ask them to remove it or ask them a question.

 

Subscribe to a forum

1. To follow a discussion or be updated when people comment, you can subscribe to forums. Select a forum and click the Subscribe button.

2. A confirmation message appears.

3. An email is sent to your student email address confirming your subscription. When posts are added by tutors or students you'll receive an email from Blackboard Administrator.

4. To unsubscribe, go back to where you clicked Subscribe. There's now an Unsubscribe button in its place. Click it to be removed from the mailing list.

Wikis - create / edit a Wiki

Wikis - create / edit a Wiki

Wikis allow you to communicate and collaborate with either all of your peers in a module, or a group of your peers from within the module. You may be asked to do this as part of an assessment.

There are two different ways Wikis can be accessed depending on how they've been set up by your tutor.

Module Wiki

This type of Wiki allows anyone studying the module to contribute. Enter the module and locate the Wiki icon (see image below). If you can't locate it you'll need to contact your module tutor to ask them if they're using it and if so, where it's located.

Sub-Group Wiki

1. Enter your Sub-Group. This may be under the My Sub-Groups in the module navigation menu, or it may be in a content area. If you can't find it, please contact your module tutor to confirm the location.

2. Inside the Sub-Group you'll see a list of Properties, Tools and Assignments. Access the Sub-Group Wiki from the Sub-group Tools section.

Create a Wiki page

1. The first time you access a Wiki you may be asked to create a new homepage. Or, your tutor may have already created a page which contains info about what they expect from the Wiki.

2. If you're asked to create a new homepage, enter a name and the contents of the homepage in the relevant boxes. These can be changed at any time by editing the page.

3. Click Submit.

4. You'll be taken to the Wiki editor.

5. Click the Create Wiki Page button.

6. Give the page a name and add some content. Click Submit when you're finished.

7. You can navigate between pages using the Wiki Details menu on the right of the page.

Edit a Wiki page

1. On the page you want to edit, click either the Edit Wiki Content button or click the arrow next to the page name and click Edit.

2. The Wiki editor opens. Make your changes, then click Submit.

3. The changes are shown in the Wiki editor.

View Change History

A Wiki allows you to view edits made to a specific page.

1. Find the page in the Wiki Details menu on the right, click the arrow next to the page, click History.

2. You're shown a list of page versions.

3. Click a title to view different versions of a page.

4. To compare changes between two versions, tick the box to the left of the version names and click Compare Versions.

5. You're shown the versions with page changes highlighted.

Wikis - add / delete comments

Wikis - add / delete comments

Add a comment

1. Open the page you want to comment on and click the Comment button at the bottom.

2. This opens a text box. Type a comment and click Add.

3. Your comment is displayed at the bottom of the page.

Delete a comment

1. View the comments by clicking the Comments link under a page. This displays all comments that have been added.

2. Click the red x icon and confirm that you want to delete.

3. The comment is removed.

Contact Us


Opening Hours


Leeds Beckett Library YouTube ChannelLeeds Beckett Library SpotifyLeeds Beckett Library Blog on WordPress

#MyBeckett on Twitter