The Library

Research and PhD Support

Symplectic FAQ

What is the difference between Symplectic and the Leeds Beckett Repository?

The research management infrastructure at Leeds Beckett comprises two separate but related software systems - Symplectic Elements research management system (Symplectic) and EPrints Open Access repository (Leeds Beckett Repository or the Repository)

Symplectic is an internal database of research records and is used to generate the list of publications that appears on your online staff profile and to provide reports on research activity across the University. It also allows files to be uploaded to the Repository, but no files are stored in Symplectic itself.

The Repository manages the full text (Word/PDF) files uploaded from Symplectic and is the external, online library of Leeds Beckett research outputs. 

It allows embargoes to be placed on files where applicable, and ensures your research outputs are discoverable and accessible on the internet. If your research is available in the Repository, it can also be made available to download from your staff profile. 

How do I add records to Symplectic?

Log in to Symplectic with your standard university username and password

If you are adding a Journal article or Conference proceeding that has been accepted for publication you should follow the instructions on the Research Excellence Framework page

If you are adding a different type of output, click the Add new journal article icon next to the relevant publication type and add the required data.

You can also import RefMan (RIS) and BibTex files, standard formats used by research management software (e.g EndNote).

For more help please contact us

Is copyright permission checked before making my research openly available from the Leeds Beckett Repository?

Yes, all uploaded files go into a restricted work area to be checked by the Research Services Team. Files will only be made openly accessible after journal publication and after any embargo period specified by the publisher has expired.

N.B. A metadata record will be made available prior to publication, in line with the Discovery requirements outlined by HEFCE 

What version of my work can I make available through the Repository?

Most publishers will permit authors to self-archive their final accepted manuscript (AAM) of a journal article, this is the version you should upload to Symplectic and once checked by the Research Services Team, it will appear in the Repository. 

Ideally you should do this as soon as it is accepted for publication and doing so makes it eligible for submission to the next REF. The final published version (the final version that appears on the Publisher's website) cannot be uploaded to for this purpose.

Symplectic icons explained

Heart icon - Make favourite  Heart icon/Make favourite

This button can be used to identify “favourites”, which will feed through to Selected Publications listed on your staff profile

Eye icon - Make invisible Eye icon/Make invisible 

This button can be used to identify publications that will not be shown on your profile at all, either in Selected Publications or the full publications list.

Star icon - Make preferred data source Selected star

This button can be used to select the preferred source and set of details to show on your profile.

Arrow icon - Upload full text 

This button can be used to view or upload the full text of your output via our repository.

PhD students

As a PhD student at Leeds Beckett, you can set up an account on Symplectic to manage your research outputs and activity. To do this, you will first need to sign up to ORCiD, which provides you with a unique personal identifier. Once you have your ORCiD, please contact us to create your account. 

For detailed information about Symplectic, please see our online guide.

What is Symplectic?

Symplectic Elements is a research management system that collects all your research activity in one place. It makes it easy to maintain an up-to-date picture of research activity across the University and to make that research more visible online.

Log-in to symplectic

 

 

 

 

 

All members of staff have an account that you can access with your standard user name and password at https://symplectic-web.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/login.html or use the icon on your desktop.

All publications must be added to Symplectic upon acceptance from April 1st 2016, as mandated by HEFCE for the next REF.

Please see our REF guide for more information.

With Symplectic you can:

  • upload your accepted versions to comply with the HEFCE policy
  • manage your own publications
  • automatically retrieve bibliographic data from citation databases
  • manage your own research profile
  • easily import data from existing records (e.g. EndNote)

The Research Services team are on hand to help you to make the most of your research outputs. Please contact us if you would like a one-on-one guide to the system, or if you have any questions.

Am I the author?

Whenever you add an output to Symplectic you should usually select yourself as the author. Symplectic gives you four options:

Please select AUTHOR unless you have edited a book/journal/chapter or you have translated a text that you did not originally write. 

If you have a role such as Sound Engineer or Script Editor, please select AUTHOR - you can explain your role in more detail in the notes section.

Please do not select Contributor - this will create a duplicate record and affects our ability to accurately report on your outputs. We have created a quick PDF guide below and you can contact us if you are unsure. If you have previously added yourself as a Contributor, or you would like us to update the other role options, please get in touch and we will be happy to help.

Meet the Research Services team

Amy Campbell, Jennifer Bayjoo & Lucy Clark

Contact us

0113 812 4731

openaccess@leedsbeckett.ac.uk