The Library

Databases

Welcome

Search for databases

Logging into eresources

Use your standard Username and Password to access most ebooks, ejournals and databases off campus.

Some ejournals and databases have a specific username and password.

These resources will be indicated with a Image representing a padlock.

You no longer need an Athens account to access electronic resources.

FAQs

What are databases?

Databases are tools, often focused on a specific subject area or profession, which allow you to search for high quality materal on a topic. You'll need to become confident in using the key databases in your subject area, to support your assignments and dissertation work.

 

Why should I use a database?

You'll need to find high quality and reliable information in journal articles and conference proceedings, as well as material on your reading list, to complete university assignments to a high standard. Discover, your academic search engine, allows you to quickly search for a broad range of material in your topic area.

Databases are designed to help you do more focused, detailed searches for the latest and most authoritative information for your topic. It will be vital to use a wide range of databases for your dissertation, so it's a good idea to gain confidence in using databases before your final year.

 

What are the key databases for my subject area?

Your subject pages list the most important databases in your area. Your Academic Librarian will also run sessions throughout your studies, recommending resources and search techniques.
 

Where can I get help with searching?

You can get help at any stage of the search process. You may want some advice on how to start searching, or have a set of results that you want to refine or expand. You can get help:

  • At the Help and Information Point. A qualified librarian is always available during staffed hours - they are trained to help you get started with searching, and can offer quick advice about refining your search.
  • From your Academic Librarian. For more detailed queries, or to arrange a longer one-to-one session, you can book an appointment with the Academic Librarian for your subject - they are experts in your field of interest.
 

Can I get help with referencing?

Image representing the front cover of the Quote Unquote referencing guide

Skills for Learning provide information on the Harvard referencing system, including how to reference a variety of different formats and media.

Their guide, 'Quote Unquote' is available online or as a pdf, or buy your own copy from the Library for £3.

A short introductory guide is also available online or in print in the Library

Contact Us

 Chat with Us

 0113 812 1000

infodesk.lc@leedsmet.ac.uk

 Visit Us


Opening Hours