The Library

Images and Sound

Copyright guidelines for the use of images and artistic works PDF guide

Using Google Images

Google Images provides access to images from thousands of different websites, along with a disclaimer for each image: Image may be subject to copyright

Google Images is not a royalty-free image site.

It is important that you check the original source of an image to clarify whether it can be further copied.

To search for images which can be re-used without seeking permission, click on the Search Tools link, then choose Usage Rights. You will then be able to narrow your search to those images which can be freely re-used, or shared under a Creative Commons licence or similar.

Key online resources for images

Artstor provides access to over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Comprises contributions from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

 

bridgeman education logo

Bridgeman Education is an archive of images sourced from the world's leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections. Images can be used in course material.

 

Logo for British Cartoon Archive with link

The British Cartoon Archive contains over 125,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons dating from 1904. They are searchable and browsable by date, by cartoonist, or by keyword. 

You need a Special Password to access BCA.

 

logo for British Library with link

One million public domain scans of images from British Library 17th-19th century holdings. The images are maps, geological diagrams, illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and more. They can be used and adapted for any purpose.

 

Europeana is Europe's culture - collected for you. Explore more than 40 million items from a range of Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

 

Logo for getty images with link

Getty Images is a photobank of stock images and photographs, part of whose collection is available for use in websites, blogs and social media platforms through their embed tool (only currently works when off-campus).

 

Logo for Tate with link

Tate holds the national collection of British art from 1500 and of international modern art. 

Over 43,000 images from the V&A collections provided free for educational use.

 

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.

 

Logo for Wellcome images with link

Wellcome Images are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use. Useful for social history, medical or scientific images.

 

Contact Us

Visit Us


Opening Hours


Leeds Beckett Library YouTube ChannelLeeds Beckett Library SpotifyLeeds Beckett Library Blog on WordPress

Help with Referencing

Skills for Learning provide information on the Harvard referencing system, including how to reference a variety of different formats and media.

Their guide, 'Quote Unquote' is available online or as a pdf, or buy your own copy from the Library for £3.

A short introductory guide is also available online or in print in the Library.

Resources for your subject

This is just a selection of the resources available to you.

For resources tailored to your subject area have a look at the Subject Support pages.