Your essential resource to find building product information online (previously called RIBA Product Selector)
Provides access to construction components and equipment information suppliers, and gives up to date supplier information from more than 10,000 companies. It includes full text catalogues, CAD drawings, data sheets, handbooks, reference manuals, selector guides, and brochures. You can search for product names, company names, trade names, and component names.
A building product information website that includes 10,500 manufacturer listings by alpha or CSI section, 7000 BIM Models, 900 specs all in the CSI 3 part format, 300 SpecWizards for automated spec writing and 7,000 CAD Details. Free to use and no registration required.
A showcase of over 120,000 design products and materials, linking architectural projects with the furnishings, materials and fittings that have been used in their execution.
A building products directory featuring thousands of UK building products and construction material manufacturers. Useful for finding building products, construction materials and interior design ideas.
UK online database of building materials, including links to company websites. You can search by company and brand, or by product or material. Requires free registration.
Created with government funding so independent of companies or trade, GreenSpec promotes sustainable building products and materials.
Working across five environmental sectors, ESI.info offers the broadest mix of supplier and product information on the market, combined with insightful articles and case studies to keep architects up to date with sector innovations.
A knowledge centre for developments and innovations in materials, and their applications for architecture and design. Materia includes a search engine to their knowledge bank of materials.
Find and compare materials and connect directly with suppliers.
Search for building product information and manufacturers by keyword or Masterformat. Fast-track design, specifications, and document creation with downloadable, insertable product information.
Online catalogue and expert knowledge of new materials and the latest high-tech and environmentally friendly products. Aims to inspire architects and designers looking to transform the structure, spaces and surfaces of their projects.
Art Inc.: the essential guide for building your career as an artist
You don't have to starve to be an artist. Build a career doing what you love. In this practical guide book, professional artist Lisa Congdon reveals the many ways you can earn a living by making art--through illustration, licensing, fine art sales, print sales, teaching, and beyond. * Including industry advice from such successful art-world pros as Nikki McClure, Mark Hearld, Paula Scher, and more * This art and business book will equip you with the tools--and the confidence--to turn your passion into a profitable business. * Chapters on setting actionable goals, diversifying your income, copyrighting your work, promoting with social media, and so much more A thoughtful gift for young artists, people interesting in making their passion a profession, and art and design school graduates. Lisa Congdon's bestselling books, online classes, and Instagram feed (beloved by 375,000+ fans) have inspired so many people to follow their creative passions. In this book Condon does what she does best--bring bold and colorful flair to smart, creative, down-to-earth advice and inspiration.
Careers in Creative Industries
Comprising original empirical studies of career-making in the creative sector, this book takes in theatre, music, film, TV, visual arts, fashion design, and architecture as creative industries. This format facilitates comparative analysis of central features of career-making within as well as across both specific industries and national contexts. The book is at the forefront and intersection of contemporary career research and research on work in creative industries / the cultural economy, intertwining both subjective and objective approaches to and dimensions of career. The contributors move beyond the dichotomies that have characterized recent career theory and work on creative industries to examine factors that facilitate and restrict horizontal and vertical mobility. Spanning a diverse range of case studies, from German theatre to Danish fashion, this book is a valuable reference for scholars of the creative and cultural industries and important reading for thoser interested in careers more generally.
Portfolio Design
Harold Linton s Portfolio Design has been the standard reference for students and young professionals in architecture, urban planning, landscape, and interior design who want to make the best impression possible in their applications for undergraduate and graduate school admissions, design grants, competitions, or in a job interview. Now, with the fourth edition, the book is better than ever. All the features that made Portfolio Design the go-to guide how to assemble a portfolio that will display your talents and qualifications to the best advantage; advice on formats, content, sequencing, page layout design, and binding systems; when to print and when to go digital; and the latest in promoting yourself on the Internet are still there and updated. The portfolio examples are new and more numerous than ever (more than 400 portfolio pages displayed), and all in color. Drawn from a wide array of current student and professional portfolios, both print and electronic, the examples illustrate many and varied graphic design alternatives that demonstrate what will capture the reviewer 's attention and secure you an offer. While the print portfolio is far from dead, the technology has been revolutionized, so the text now focuses on the new standard operating procedure: portfolios designed and generally produced, sent, and viewed online. Portfolio pointers from industry professionals and educators complement the practical advice given by Harold Linton, who has taught portfolio design to generations of students. As a companion to the print book, an online portfolio showcasing images from the book and bonus portfolio pages is available for browsing at: http: //www.wwnorton.com/npb/portfoliodesign.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. *Please note we do not have access to the Insights content.
Includes statistics such as:
Online access to the Census of England and Wales held on 21 March 2021 by the Office for National Statistics.
Provides statistics at European level (from the European Union statistics office in Luxembourg) that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Provides statistics on a range of areas, such as population, international trade and transportation to show comparisons between countries and regions within the EU.
The latest comprehensive range of official UK statistics about the economy, population and society at national and local level. Summaries and detailed data releases are published free of charge.
A comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It contains single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
Find detailed market research reports on a range of categories such as food and drink, household products, health and nutrition, automative, etc.
Market research reports in UK, European and US consumer markets. Mintel includes trends, statistics, news, information on brands and companies, and demographic data on a range of sectors. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
Ethical Consumer's primary goal is making global businesses more sustainable through consumer pressure. You can access tools and resources to make choices at the checkout simple, informed and effective to consumers. Categories include Energy, Fashion and Clothing, Food and Drink, Health and Beauty, Home and Garden, Retailers and Technology.
Collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings covering a wide range of industries within the UK. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts, Brexit Impact Reports and insight into operation conditions, including the supply chain.
Mintel Trends is a trend analysis service that monitors, tracks and interprets consumer behaviour. Trends helps you understand the wider implications of changes in culture, society, brands, and markets and apply those findings for practical use. The above link has the 'Consumer Trends' filter already applied and can be found via the 'Expert Analysis' tab of Mintel.
A leading trend forecasting service, containing resources for fashion design, real time information on trends and portfolios of resources connected to product categories.
*28/9/23 majority of the site is available without an account by clicking ‘Access Database’. However some content (including downloads) require an account to access - see below.*
If you cannot login to your account, please try a password reset. If still unable and seeing an error regarding not accessing for 90 days or location error, please email contactus@wgsn.com from your student email account.
Creative Review focuses on commercial creativity, design, advertising, photography, branding, digital products, film, and gaming. Updated daily with analysis, comment, opinion and advice on life in the creative industries. As well as the online content, you can also access every print issue of the Creative Review magazine in the digital archive, from 1980 onwards.
Before accessing you will need to register with your LBU email, as per below. After which you will be able to access the content. (To log back in, click on the head and shoulders icon top right of the homepage).
Apologies, but after registration, there is a 48 hour delay to access the print version of Creative Review online.
This is the database for all publications from the British Standards Institute (BSI). It includes current, historic, and draft British Standards; BSI adopted European and international standards; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries.
Please note you will need to download File Open to be able to download the full standards. Rather than download, you can view the document by clicking on 'Quick View' but please note it isn't always the full version.
Comprehensive source of technical information standards and legislation for construction industry professionals. Includes Building Regulations Approved Documents, Codes of Practice, Specimen Contract Documents, Architects' Journal and the SCI Blue Book.
Please note, for British Standards please search the British Standards Online database.
A patent protects new inventions and covers how things work, what they do, how they do it, what they are made of and how they are made. Patents can also give valuable technical information.What is a patent and what does it mean? is a handy introductory guide to patents.
