The Library

Education

Selected non-fiction titles

School Practice Collection

Our School Practice Collection, located on the first floor of the Headingley Library, is intended to help you prepare for teaching practice, and to demonstrate the range of resources available generally and within schools. The focus of the collection is 0 to 11, as the majority of secondary education material is shelved in the main collection.
Resources found in the collection have elements that could be given to a child.  There is some overlap: you will find some resources aimed at the teacher, however associated materials will be child focussed.  So for example, while story sacks could contain puppets or story books for the child, they are designed mostly for the adult to use when supervising the child – story sacks are kept in School Practice.  “Child focussed” distinguishes School Practice resources from the other parent, practitioner and academic resources you can find in the main collection.  

Resources are available to support the primary National Curriculum subjects and government strategies in literacy and numeracy.

You can find School Practice resources by using the Library Catalogue.

Types of resources you can find:

  • audio visual

We have DVDs but the much of our AV material is streamed using services such as Box of Broadcasts 

  • dual language
  • empathy dolls
  • fiction

This material is sub-divided into Junior (JF), and Early Years (JY) collections.  Story books for young children (Foundation/Key Stage1) classified as JY, can be found in the low level boxes, some of which are designated for large format.  Resources for older children (Key stage 2) are shelved at JF, while poetry and plays can be found at 820.  We have a good collection of medal winners including: Kate Greenaway, and Carnegie Medal winners

  • graphic novels,
  • story sacks
  • subject material

Large-format subject material is kept in hanging racks.  Subject material is shelved in the same Dewey order as adult stock. The descriptions below are from a child's perspective:

 

000 - 099 Useful Information
100 - 199 The Mind
200 - 299 Religion
300 - 399 Words and Language
500 - 599 Science and Nature
600 - 699 How Things Work
700 - 799 Arts and Sport
800 - 899 Poetry and Plays
900 - 999 History and Geography

Your Academic Librarian

School Librarians as a Resource