The Library

English Literature and Creative Writing

Literature Online

Literature Online is a fully searchable library of more than 355,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose which also includes audio and video:

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

Box of Broadcasts is an online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 60 TV and radio channels. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of at over 1 million programmes.

Click here for information on how to log into BoB

BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource

This site contains programmes and photographs from the BBC's Shakespeare archive. It includes Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets, documentaries, interviews and over a thousand stills of classic Shakespeare productions, as well as entertainment programmes referencing Shakespeare.

The programmes are only available for streamed playback in an educational setting, such as in a classroom, lecture theatre or for academic research. In order to play the programmes or see the photos you will need to prove you are part of a university using the authentication box which appears once you attempt to play media on the site.

Video streaming databases

Alexander Street Press logo      Kanopy logo

Leeds Beckett TV

Leeds Beckett TV is intended to work as an in-house equivalent to YouTube and iPlayer. Content is selected by university staff and includes recordings of recent and historic film and television broadcasts, as well as in-house content such as inaugural lectures and graduation ceremonies.

Log in here (available on and off-campus but not outside the UK).

Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians

Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians has been put together by The British Library and is a fantastic collection of material from the Romantic and Victorian periods. Resources in the collection include William Blake's notebook, childhood writings of the Bronte sisters, the manuscript of the Preface to Charles Dickens's Oliver Twist, and an early draft of Oscar Wilde's The Importance of Being Earnest. These sit alongside contemporary research articles on Victorian and Romantic literature written by more than 60 leading experts, as well as 25 short documentary films on a variety of topics to enhance the study and enjoyment of English literature.

Watch this short video to find out more about the collection: