The Library

English Literature and Creative Writing

Newspapers

Newspapers publish information on a wide range of topics. Most are published on a daily basis in print and online, providing up-to-date information.

As well as reporting on current affairs, newspapers can be a valuable source of opinion and debate. Newspapers can be biased or subjective, so their content must be evaluated carefully.

Most newspapers have their own website where you may register (usually access is free) and view current news and a limited archive.

However, resources like Newsstand, which Leeds Beckett subscribes to, have large archives of many newspapers, all searchable in one online source.

We also take some papers in hard copy.

Searching for a specific news title?

You can access many national, international and regional news titles via the Ejournals A-Z

Search for the title of the news source.

Copying newspaper articles

Newspapers are protected by copyright. Information on copying articles under licence is available. 

Key news sources

PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print, some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more.

You can access and read publications as a guest user without registering to create an account. To have more features and personalization you will need to register for a PressReader account. To register, click on the Sign In option, in the top right hand corner of the screen. You can select your favourite publications and can set up email alerts when a new issue of your favourite publication has been released.

‚ÄčInfotrac Newsstand allows you to search both current and archive newspaper content. Includes a Topic Finder tool, which you can use to discover the context of your search term and uncover hidden connections.

LexisNexis UK Newspapers allows you to access the full text archive of key news titles such as The Guardian, and search across different news sources.

logo for the Times Digital Archive and link

Access to the full text of The Times between 1785 and 2010. Articles are reproduced in original format, allowing you to research both content and visual layout.

Other, more specialist news sources are available, particularly for historical research.

Historical news sources

19th Century British Library Newspapers

The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Burney Newspaper Collection

17th-18th Century newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney.

Chronicling America

Chronicling America from the Library of Congress provides access to information about historic US newspapers and selected digitized newspaper pages. The National Digital Newspaper Program aims to digitize approximately 100,000 newspaper pages representing each state's regional history, geographic coverage, and events of the particular time period being covered.

Daily Mail Historical Archive

The historical archive of the Daily Mail. All issues of the Daily Mail between 1896 and 2004 can be searched and browsed. The issues are direct replicas of the print newspapers and include advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century British culture and society.

Gale Primary Sources

Allows you to search across many of our historical newspaper archives. It also includes a term frequency function. This allows you to track how often a word or phrase has been used over time, making it an ideal way to look at social developments or ideas in different historical contexts.

New York Times 1851-1923 and 1981-present

Visitors can read 10 free articles each month pre-1923 and post-1980, registration with the site is required. Your free, limited access resets at the beginning of each calendar month. 

You can also access the New York Times through our subscription newspaper database: 1985-present on Infotrac Newsstand.

The Times Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th - 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785 to 2009. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.

UK Press Online : Daily Express and Daily Mirror Archive

An archive of every page of the following newspapers that can all searched and browsed:

Daily Mirror from 1903 - current

Daily Express from 1900 - current

Sunday Express from 2000 - current

Your Academic Librarians

Karen Fisher and Alison Park's picture
Karen Fisher and Alison Park

Book an Appointment

Contact:
0113 812 1106
Social:Twitter Page