The Library

English Literature and Creative Writing

Shakespeare 400

Shakespeare 400 celebrates the achievements and cultural legacy of William Shakespeare, on the 400th anniversary of his death. We have a wide range of research material on Shakespeare, and have selected some highlights below. 

Shakespeare eBook resources

The Drama Online collection contains over 1,300 different resources which focus on playwriting, criticism through scholarly works and practical guides. The collection contains the full ‘Arden Shakespeare” collection of literary criticism of Shakespeare’s work as well as his plays. Also included are “Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen Film Collection” and “Shakespeare and Early Modern Video Collection” these video collections provide over 60 hours of content of Shakespeare’s play performed. 

Image result for oxford reference

The Oxford Reference collection includes “An A-Z guide to Shakespeare” which contains over 860 entries on William Shakespeare and his work. It includes entries on his works, Shakespeare’s life, actors of his works and criticism from expert authorities.

Shakespeare in Video

Studying modern adaptations of Shakespeare's plays? We have fantastic video resources available, including Box of Broadcasts.

Never used Box of Broadcasts? Here's how you can access BoB.

Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive

The Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive is a new database that features more than 3,000 digitized illustrations from four major UK editions of Shakespeare’s Complete Works, published in the mid-1800s. Created as a PhD project by Michael Goodman, you can browse the archive by play, artist and character or by using the tag cloud on the home page that highlights the recurring motifs in Shakespeare's plays.

Romeo and Juliet Headpiece

Selous, H.C. (1864) Romeo and Juliet Headpiece. In: Goodman, Michael John (2016) The Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive. Available from: <https://shakespeareillustration.org/2016/08/07/romeo-and-juliet-headpiece> [Accessed 23 November 2016].

Literature Research Resources

Research tools such as Literature Online or MLA International Bibliography enable you to:

  • Deepen your understanding of the historical context shaping Shakespeare's work
  • Trace key literary theories
  • Find out about Shakepeare's connection with other contemporary playwrights

British Library - Discovering Literature: Shakespeare

The British Library have created a Discovering Literature: Shakespeare to celebrate Shakespeare 400. The site includes some images from original manuscripts and Shakespeare's First Folio.