See the Finding Information page which explains what searching techniques there are so that you can find the most relevant information for your needs. It also has tips on saving results and how to evaluate your sources.
Use Discover to search across a large number of different databases at the same time to find articles from a range of sources. Search with keywords that describe your topic to see what articles have been written:
You can also search on these separate, more subject-specific, databases to find articles:
Gives access to the enormous range of nineteenth-century periodical literature an invaluble resource, of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions, in short, of all aspects of nineteenth-century life that the press encompassed.
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. It provides information on a range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, social sciences and more.
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Journals from Cambridge University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) is an aggregation of open access content from UK and worldwide repositories and open access journals. It provides a range of services including discovery, analytics, and text mining access. The aggregated content includes metadata (24m records) and open access research outputs (about 1.8m full text items) from more than 667 repositories, from 10,351 journals in the UK and worldwide (currently 70 countries).
A regularly updated, digitized journal archive providing you with a wide range of scholarly content. A key resource for Humanities and Social Sciences. This is an archive so the current issues will not be available straight away, but you will always get from volume 1, issue 1 for every journal title.
Leeds Beckett subscribes to the Arts and Sciences Collection I, II and III, which covers archaeology, classical studies, economics, geography, history, language, music, performing and visual arts, political science, sociology.
The archive provides access to all content from Volume 1 until 1995, for journals across the subjects of humanities, law, social sciences, medicine and science.
Scholarly humanities and social science journals and eBooks. You can access Project Muse titles from the 2013 and 2014 collections of History, Literature, Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non Fiction and Film, Theater and Performing Arts.
Full text access to over 380 Sage Publication titles subscribed to by The Library mainly in the social sciences, including titles on law (mainly crime and criminal justice), business, humanities, science, technology and medicine.
Publishers of scholarly journals, books, eBooks, reference works, and databases, the content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Database of references to some books and journal articles taken from a wide variety of subject areas. Full text access is only available to some 400 of the thousands of publications listed. You can only see the full text of those items that have an open lock symbol next to them. If no such symbol appears you do not have full text access.
For a full list of all of the Library's databases, go to:
