Image taken from page 379 of 'The ladies' flower garden of ornamental bulbous plants'.
Find this and over one million other copyright free images on the British Library Photostream.
The Library has a collection of film, television and video games available to borrow.
To search the collection go to Discover and on the Advanced Search screen choose which format you would like the results to be, e.g. DVD video, sound recording, etc.
Copyright Aware is a BBC website explaining what copyright is and gives guidance on how you can protect your own creative work and how to use other people's work legally.
Over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Useful for both undergraduate and postgraduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media.
Providing a collection of archival film footage from the past 120 years which has been collected by the British Film Institute. These include collections on comedy, female filmmakers, LGBT Britain, animation and lots more.
Online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 TV and radio channels. These channels include BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, BBC 4, Film 4 and radio channels including Radio 4 and lots more. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of over 2 million programmes that is fully searchable.
Available in the UK. If you are in a non-EU country, the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and you may not access BoB content, even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
An archive of the Cannes Lions Award in creative communications and advertising. Listing the most creative advertising campaigns of the year including films, scripts and campaign information.
Apologies, but issues with access means that personal accounts are no longer supported. Any issues please let libraryonline@leedsbeckett.ac.uk know.
Recorded performances from over 50 leading theatre companies, educational organisations and arts collectives worldwide. The 600+ productions are accompanied by essays, guides and lesson plans, as well as insights from practitioners and academics.
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
*24/8/23 - apologies please use a pc/mac to view there is an error when accessing via a mobile/tablet device. Film streaming service where you can watch movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos. We don't have access to the full collection, but there are still a wide range of videos to watch, selected to match our curriculum.
On-demand media recording service for Leeds Beckett staff. Content includes in-house recordings such as inaugural lectures and graduation ceremonies.
LeedsBeckett TV is available on and off campus (but not outside the UK).
*28/9/23 - if unable to access, please clear your cache/cookies or use an alternative browser eg Microsoft Edge
More than 2 million images from 300 collections, which are updated monthly. The images are curated from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research. Images can be found on a range of subjects, including: anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, history, fashion and costume, literature, religion, world history and more.
You can download images and image details individually. Once you have logged in using your username and password you will have to register for a free account in order to download. Register using your student email address and by registering you will be able to access saved folders and organize images into groups.
This is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.
VADS is a service of the Centre for Digital Scholarship in the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.
Even if an image is "free" it should still be acknowledged if you use it. A Harvard reference for an online image would look like this:
Norfolk, S. (2016) Oscar Niemeyer staircase [Online image]. Available from: <http://www.simonnorfolk.com/meanderings/meander-01>
You can find guidelines for referencing images and other sources on Skills for Learning.
The British Library has uploaded over one million public domain scans from 17th-19th century books to Flickr. The images are maps, geological diagrams, illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and more scanned from 65,000 volumes held by the British Library and they can be used and adapted for any purpose.
The Courtauld Gallery Collection Online
The Courtauld Gallery’s collection, which comprises over 33,000 objects ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century and includes paintings, drawings, ceramics and sculptures, among others, is available to explore in its entirety online for free.
Explore over 58 million digital resources, including artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
Over 1 million photos of garden design and horticultural projects.
Getty Images is a photobank of stock images and photographs, made available for use in websites, blogs and social media platforms through their embed tool (only currently works when off-campus).
The Getty Open Content Program
The J. Paul Getty Trust makes freely available all digital images to which it holds the rights, or that are in the public domain, to be used for any purpose. Currently, there are more than 140,000 images.
Search over 1 million catalogue entries describing photographs, plans and drawings of England's buildings and historic sites, held in the Historic England Archive. If you tick 'Only records with online images' to view photographs dating from the 1850s to the present day.
Historic Illustrations of Art and Architecture
Images in the public domain that may be downloaded free of charge. A good resource for architectural plans and drawings from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design.
A large online photograph collection, including art, architecture, industrial design, and textures. All images can be downloaded and used freely with copyright restrictions.
A photographic archive of Leeds with more than 60,000 digital images. The database is free to search but use of the photos is for personal use only and you cannot copy, publish or distribute the images in any way.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
This collection include photographs, fine and popular prints, drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the focus is on materials produced in the US and content documenting its history. High-resolution images are available to download and the vast majority are copyright free.
Free low resolution downloads of prints, painting, and photographs related to historic gardens and estates that are under the National Trust’s care.
A compilation of openly licensed image collections from several cultural institutions. All of those listed contain images that can be freely used without restriction.
Includes access to a vast range of images including historical gardening illustrations from the world renowned Lindley Library, expert advisory images, portraits of rare and unusual cultivars, plant pests and diseases, award winning images from The Garden magazine and photographs of the RHS shows and gardens.
The online image database of the RIBA British Architectural Library, the world's most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture. Includes photographs, drawings and engravings, covering world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as landscape and design. You can browse the images or download them for educational purposes.
