Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
To access this resource, click on log in where it says Please log in via your home organisation, choose Leeds Beckett University from the drop down list and click on Select.
Streamed access to over 1,600 electroacoustic music tracks from Empreintes Digitales, a Canadian label specialising in acousmatic music. The tracks featured on this site are available for online streaming purposes only - downloading or saving are not allowed.
Radio resources bringing together archives of Independent Local Radio from 1973 to 1996.
Professional-quality audio and video materials. First time users - you will need to register using your student or staff email address. Then follow the prompts to pick a password, we do not recommend using your LBU password (you may need to scroll down and the password page appears on the right hand side).
Subsequent access is via the ‘Access Database’ link and logging in with LBU email and distinct password. If you have forgotten your password, please check your inbox spam for necessary email.
The Library has a collection of film, television and video games available to borrow. To search the collection go to Discover and on the Advanced Search screen choose which format you would like the results to be, e.g. DVD video, sound recording, etc.
Copyright Aware is a BBC website explaining what copyright is and gives guidance on how you can protect your own creative work and how to use other people's work legally.
Online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 TV and radio channels. These channels include BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, BBC 4, Film 4 and radio channels including Radio 4 and lots more. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of over 2 million programmes that is fully searchable.
Available in the UK. If you are in a non-EU country, the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and you may not access BoB content, even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
On-demand media recording service for Leeds Beckett staff. Content includes in-house recordings such as inaugural lectures and graduation ceremonies.
LeedsBeckett TV is available on and off campus (but not outside the UK).
Recorded performances from over 50 leading theatre companies, educational organisations and arts collectives worldwide. The 600+ productions are accompanied by essays, guides and lesson plans, as well as insights from practitioners and academics.
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
*24/8/23 - apologies please use a pc/mac to view there is an error when accessing via a mobile/tablet device. Film streaming service where you can watch movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos. We don't have access to the full collection, but there are still a wide range of videos to watch, selected to match our curriculum.
British Library Sound Archive
One of the world's largest sound archives. Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound, including oral history.
To access this resource, click on log in where it says Please log in via your home organisation, choose Leeds Beckett University from the drop down list and click on Select.
British Universities Film and Video Council Moving Image Gateway
This gateway includes nearly 1,200 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been sub-divided into over 40 subject areas, including History.
Europeana Music
Europeana Music brings together a selection of the best music recordings, sheet music, and other music related collections from Europe's audio-visual archives, libraries, archives and museums. Explore over 300,000 music recordings, pieces of sheet music and other music items from across Europe and listen to Europeana Radio where you can choose from Classical Music or Traditional and Folk Music.
*28/9/23 - if unable to access, please clear your cache/cookies or use an alternative browser eg Microsoft Edge
More than 2 million images from 300 collections, which are updated monthly. The images are curated from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research. Images can be found on a range of subjects, including: anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, history, fashion and costume, literature, religion, world history and more.
You can download images and image details individually. Once you have logged in using your username and password you will have to register for a free account in order to download. Register using your student email address and by registering you will be able to access saved folders and organize images into groups.
More than 200,000 fully-catalogued British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines. Artwork dates from 19th century to the present day, by over 300 artists. Covers all areas of British political cartoons and caricature and covers these themes extensively: political commentary of 20th century; Victorian and Edwardian caricature; Societal commentary; World wars; Domestic life.
Explore over 50 million digital resources, including artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Items include artwork from Botticelli, fashion illustrations from Paul Poiret and music from Mozart. Digital versions of exhibitions can be viewed to learn more about a number of subject areas such as: Leonardo Da Vinci, recording devices and surrealist art.
An educational & cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. From the world’s leading collection of youth culture history.
All content is downloadable in screen resolution for internal education usage only.
Research tool allowing researchers to access primary material depicting key elements of nineteenth century popular culture, including spiritualism in Victorian Britain, the circus, pleasure gardens, advertising and music hall. Primary material in the collection includes books, pamphlets, journals, posters, photographs, prints, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, theatre tickets, architectural design plans, scripts, programmes and playbills.
This is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.
VADS is a service of the Centre for Digital Scholarship in the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.
