Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Childhood & Early Years

Help with your dissertation

You can book an appointment with your Librarian (details on the right) who can help you find resources including journal articles, statistics and more. You should also attend sessions provided by your Academic Librarian on research skills.

Remember if you are unsure about anything it is best to check with your dissertation supervisor!

Books on writing your dissertation for Childhood and Early Years

The Library also stocks books on writing dissertations and research skills. Please search the Library Catalogue. And we offer an Interlibrary Loans service if you need a book or journal that we don't have in stock.

Can I find copies of past dissertations in the Library?

We keep some printed dissertations and theses in the Library - but not for all subject areas. Dissertations are held within the normal book stock and theses in the High Demand Area at each campus. 

You may also find it helpful to look at a similar subject, for example Education or Playwork dissertations.

You can find these on the Library Catalogue:

  • type 'dissertations' into the search box and select Browse (see photo). Then click search.
  • you will get a list of dissertations split up into subject areas. Click the Next button near the top of the page until you find the topic that you are searching for, e.g. Business.

 

What other help is available?

Skills for Learning offers support on a variety of academic writing skills: report writing, writing skills for international students, literature reviews and time management advice.  See the Skills for Learning website for step by step guidance on how to plan and manage your workload, and how to structure your dissertation.

They also run workshops, bookable via MyHub on topics such as

  • Word for dissertations and reports
  • Statistics 2 - analysing your data
  • Intermediate SPSS

The Centre for Learning and Teaching offers some guidance for postgraduate students in writing theses.

Other dissertation services

• Proquest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland

The Library subscribes to the Index to Theses database, which provides immediate access to 600,000 higher degree theses and dissertation abstracts. There are also links to 50,000 full text downloadable theses

 • Ethos (Electronic Theses Online Service)

Ethos aims to offer a 'single point of access' where researchers the world over can access ALL theses produced by UK Higher Education. You can search the Ethos database without having to register, but you will need to register to download or order a thesis.

OpenThesis

OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organisation, and collaboration tools.

PDQT Open

PDQT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors have opted to publish as open access and make their research available for free. Please note the content is mostly North American

Dart

The DART-Europe portal offers free access to full text European doctoral theses. The portal gives you access to over 360,000 open access research theses from over 500 universities in 27 European countries.