Skip to Main Content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Public Health, Environmental Health, & Health & Safety

Health and Safety Executive Guidance

Heath and Safety Executive Guidance (HSG) Publications

Full catalogue of HSE publications. This includes:

The Legal (L) series which contains all published approved codes of practice.  

The Health and Safety Guidance (HSG) series is guidance to best practice in applying and complying with H&S law.  

In OTHER section there are some valuable resources including EH40/2005, the most up to date guide available for identifying workplace exposure limits involving hazardous chemicals; EH40/2005 is directly for use with the CoSHH Regs.

Key databases

Also:

IOSH (Institution of Occupational Safety and Health)

An independent, not-for-profit organisation that sets professional standards, supports and develops members and provides authoritative advice and guidance on health and safety issues.

OSHWiki 

Use this network to discuss current issues with other professionals.

Legal information databases

Westlaw UK Best Bet

Large legal database containing UK and EU case law, legislation (up to date revised versions), legal journals, and commentary texts such as Civil Procedure (the White Book); Archbold Criminal Pleading Evidence and Practice; Totty and Moss on Insolvency; and Woodfall on Landlord and Tenant. The current awareness section is useful for keeping up-to-date. Also links to Westlaw International for access to all Westlaw content outside of the UK and Europe. Very easy searching and useful Case Analysis and Legislation Analysis documents. 

 

Epidemiology resources

Principles of Epidemiology in public health practice; An introduction to Applied Epidemiology and Biostatistics.

Developed by the Centres for Disease Control & Prevention, this "self-paced" course consists of reading, exercises and self assessment quizzes. The course covers basic epidemiology principles, concepts and procedures. It is aimed at local government and private sector health professionals responsible for disease surveillance. The programe of study is outlined below including the instructional text and related exercises.

Lesson 1: Introduction to Epidemiology

Lesson 2: Summarizing data

Lesson 3: Measures of risk

Lesson 4: Displaying public health data

Lesson 5: Public health surveillance

Lesson 6: Investigating an outbreak

 

Toxicology Tutorials. Created by the National Library of Medicine, these online tutorials have been developed to support users of NLM's toxicology databases. Written at an introductory level, the course outline is as follows;

Lesson 1: Basic principles

Lesson 2: Toxicokinetics

Lesson 3: Cellular toxicology

For further reading and guidance try Epidemiology for the Uninitiated. It is provided by the BMJ and is gauged at an introductory level. The book offers guidance on the epidemiological approach, jargon and terminology used, and methods.