Qualitative Research Methods in Sport Exercise and Health (ebook) by Andrew C. Sparkes; Brett SmithQualitative forms of inquiry are a dynamic and exciting area within contemporary research in sport, exercise and health. Students and researchers at all levels are now expected to understand qualitative approaches and be able to employ them in their work. In this comprehensive and in-depth introductory text, Andrew C. Sparkes and Brett Smith take the reader on a journey through the entire qualitative research process that begins with the conceptualization of ideas and the planning of a study, moves through the phases of data collection and analysis, and then explains how findings might be represented in various ways to different audiences. Ethical issues are also explored in detail, as well as the ways that the goodnessof qualitative research might be judged by its consumers. The book is based on the view that researchers need to make principled, informed and strategic decisions about what, why, when, and how to use qualitative forms of inquiry. The nature of qualitative research is explained in terms of both its core assumptions and what practitioners actually doin the field when they collect data and subject it to analysis. Each chapter is vividly illustrated with cases and examples from published research, to demonstrate different qualitative approaches in action and their relative strengths and weaknesses. The book also extends the boundaries of qualitative research by exploring innovative contemporary methodologies and novel ways to report research findings. Qualitative Research Methods in Sport, Exercise and Health is essential reading for any student, researcher or professional who wishes to understand this form of inquiry and to engage in a research project within a sport, exercise or health context.
Research design : qualitative, quantitative & mixed methods approaches, 5th edition by John W. CreswellThis best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.
New to this Edition:
Updated discussion on designing a proposal for a research project and on the steps in designing a research study
Additional content on epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology and method
Additional updates on the transformative worldview
Expanded coverage on specific approaches such as case studies, participatory action research, and visual methods
Additional information about qualitative and quantitative data analysis, social media, online qualitative methods, and mentoring and reflexivity in qualitative methods
Incorporation of action research and program evaluation in mixed methods and coverage of the latest advances in the mixed methods field
Additional information about causality and its relationship to statistics in quantitative methods
Incorporation of writing discussion sections into each of the three methodologies
An invaluable guide for students and researchers across the social and behavioural sciences.
Research Methods in Physical Activity (7th edition ebook) by Jerry R. Thomas; Jack K. Nelson; Stephen J. SilvermanResearch Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, systematically guides students through the research process, introducing methods and tools specifically for kinesiology and exercise science disciplines, including the subdisciplines of physical therapy, rehabilitation, and occupational therapy. The seventh edition leads students and novice researchers to research competency with the distinctive humor that has become a trademark of this internationally recognized text. This text provides step-by-step information for every aspect of the research process, from identifying and devising research questions to analyzing data and compiling results for presentation. Methods for qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods research approaches are addressed, and real-world research questions--including historical, experimental, epidemiological, and philosophical--are presented by scholarly contributors who give suggestions for approaches to follow. Photos, anecdotes, and humorous stories are used throughout the text to put students at ease and emphasize key points through practical applications. Enhancements to the seventh edition include the following: - Updated information and techniques for electronic searches to ensure students use best research practices - New information on meta-analysis and the benefits of journal-style writing that teach readers to evaluate and prepare data for scholarly journals and publication - Special attention to ethical issues to help readers understand the regulations involved in using human and animal subjects - New information on logistic regression that aids in the understanding of complex ideas - Further explanation of qualitative and mixed-methods research approaches, in addition to quantitative approaches, to ensure readers use the most appropriate methodology for their research The content of the seventh edition maintains and expands upon the logical content progression that has made Research Methods in Physical Activity the leading text in the field. Part I presents an overview of the research process, including problem development, preparation of the research plan, and understanding ethical issues in research and writing. Part II introduces statistical and measurement issues in research, and part III presents various types of or approaches to research and methodology from expert researchers in the field. Part IV includes a writing guide for result findings and details how to develop and organize research papers and presentations. Statistical tables and guides are available in the appendix. To aid instructors, Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, includes a suite of ancillary materials featuring an instructor guide, test package, an extra data set for instructors who wish to create specialized learning activities, and presentation package plus image bank. Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, instills in students the confidence to devise, collect, analyze, and present their research in a competent manner by systematically guiding them through the research process. It is an essential text for all emerging researchers in physical activity.
The Sage handbook of social media research methodsThe SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods offers a step-by-step guide to overcoming the challenges inherent in research projects that deal with 'big and broad data', from the formulation of research questions through to the interpretation of findings. The handbook includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters.
Publication Date: 2017
Studying and Researching with Social Media by Megan PooreLecturers, request your electronic inspection copy hereWondering what your lecturers are looking for in a blog post? Asking yourself how that's different from writing an essay (or a wiki page)?Unsure if Twitter really can be used to build your online profile as a researcher? If you want - or need - to integrate social media tools into your studies and research, this practical book is your one-stop shop. Megan Poore shares the secrets of how to harness the power of social media tools to improve your academic productivity. Inside, you'll find out how to:... write a good blog post... contribute to a wiki... maximise your grades when creating an audio-visual presentation... find and share the latest research via Twitter... keep safe online. Featuring handy illustrations and exercises, as well as guidance on broader issues such as copyright, avoiding plagiarism, and cyberbullying, you'll find out all you need to successfully use social media to support your study and research.Visit the Studying and Researching with Social Media blog which accompanies the book, sharing tips and guidance on using social media to improve your study and research skills.SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
You are able to download SPSS (Mac and Windows) for your own use from the "IT Tab" in MyBeckett. Further information about downloading SPSS (including video guides) and installation guides can be found on the Student IT Support webpages.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by Andy FieldLecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here With a little help from his weird band of characters the Fourth Edition of the award-winning book continues, with its unique blend of humour and collection of bizarre examples, to bring statistics - from first principles to advanced concepts - well and truly to life using IBM SPSS Statistics. Lecturers: with WebAssign® you can manage and monitor your students′ progress quickly and easily online or give them more opportunities to practise! Ideal for short courses, choose to use WebAssign® alongside the Fourth Edition of Andy Field′s textbook to quickly set up courses and schedule assignments (using the 2159 questions available) and track individual performance so you can spot in an instant where more instruction or practice is needed. If not using for fomal assessment, WebAssign® still lets you set questions for your students to practise over and over again. They get instant feedback and also links to the relevant chapter or section in the integral ebook to help them work out the correct solution. For more information on how to integrate WebAssign® into a forthcoming course or to arrange a class test please contact your local SAGE representative for more details. (Students please note: access to WebAssign® is dependent not only on the purchase of a student access code (ISBN: 9781446273043) but also a username, institution code and password supplied by your course leader/instructor). SAGE MobileStudy - study where and when you likeScan any QR code within the book to access revision material on a smartphone or tablet such as Cramming Sam′s Study tips, flashcard glossaries, interactive multiple choice questionnaires and more. Click here to take a look (if you′re accessing the site from a desktop you′ll be taken to the Companion Website instead; look out for the MobileStudy icon to show you which pages are also available on the MobileStudy site). See how Andy′s book is changing the landscape for textbooks through the use of technology! Support materials for a wide range of disciplinesEducation and Sport Sciences lecturer support materials with enhanced ones for Psychology, Business and Management and the Health Sciences on the enhanced Companion Website make the book even more relevant to a wider range of subjects across the social sciences and where statistics is taught to a cross-disciplinary audience. Other major new updates include: Now fully compatible with recent IBM SPSS Statistics releases. Two new characters! Statistical cult leader Oditi provides students with access to video clips via his Lantern to help further understanding of statistical/SPSS concepts, while Confusius helps students to make better sense of statistical terms. The enhanced Companion Website offers plenty of lecturer and student material to use in conjunction with the textbook. These include PowerPoints and subject-specific testbanks for lecturers as well as answers to the Smart Alex tasks at the end of the each chapter; datafiles for testing problems in SPSS; flashcards of key concepts; self-assessment multiple-choice questions; and online videos of key statistical and SPSS procedures discussed in the textbook for students. Video Links Go behind the scenes of the Fourth Edition, and find out about the man behind the book Watch Andy introduce SAGE MobileStudy Ask Andy Anything: Teaching stats... and Robbie Williams′ head Ask Andy Anything: Gibson or Fender Ask Andy Anything: The one part of the book Andy hated writing Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for classPerusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Statistics in Kinesiology by William J. VincentStatistics in Kinesiology, Third Edition,is an introductory text that will help students learn how to use a variety of statistical techniques. The book uses examples and data sets that should be familiar to students majoring in kinesiology and related fields, thus making it easier to learn and apply the statistical concepts. This new edition contains the following features: -Updates and revisions that develop statistical techniques in a simpler and clearer way -Upgraded content with new and extensive problem sets to help students interact with the subject matter -Techniques that can be applied to kinesiological subdisciplines and that are relevant to the movement sciences Using statistical techniques from physical education, exercise science, administration, and pedagogy, students with basic algebraic skills will be able to interpret data by hand calculation and check their results against computer output. While the text preserves its basic techniques, there is expanded content on computer usage in relation to statistics, which will further enhance understanding and reflect the changes in the field. By gaining knowledge of the mathematical formulas used by software programs, students will learn to critically evaluate computer results and interpret data with greater confidence and ease. The extensive problem sets, complete with answers, come with key words to identify the content that students should carefully review. The new problem sets in this edition are designed to help students interact more fully with the content and thus more fully learn the concepts and techniques. In the early chapters, students receive a thorough introduction to measurement, statistics, and research; learn how to organize and display data; and calculate using percentiles. Students then move on to study measures of central tendency and variability, curves and sampling errors, and correlations and different types of regressions. Later they learn how to use t tests and how to analyze variance, comparing means and using repeated measures. Students also learn advanced statistical procedures and how to analyze nonparametric data. This new edition is highly readable and well illustrated with figures explaining or demonstrating statistical concepts. By using Statistics in Kinesiology, Third Edition,students should gain a firm knowledge on the relevant statistical techniques used in physical activity fields, and professionals have a great reference at their fingertips.
If you are undertaking a systematic literature review, you may be asked to create a PRISMA flow diagram (a diagram that shows where you searched, how many things you found, what you included/excluded and why) as part of your work. This site will help you to create a diagram for inclusion in your work.
Doing a Systematic Review by Angela Boland; Gemma Cherry (Editor); Rumona Dickson (Editor)Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Doing Your Research Project in Sport (ebook) by Chris LynchThe research project is a major component of most higher education sport courses. While undertaking a research project can be an exciting and rewarding experience, it can all too easily lead to stress and disappointment. Mistakes made early in the process - in the design of experiments, for example - can lead to frustration later on. This accessible book guides students through the process, from the initial stages of research (identifying problems and designing questions) right through to the presentation of their findings.
This guide introduces you to academic integrity at our University and includes a variety of resources (including videos and quizzes) that will help develop your skills around academic integrity and referencing.
The Skills for Learning webpages contain advice, resources and activities on university study, academic writing, maths and IT skills
Critical thinking skills : effective analysis, argument and reflection (3rd edition ebook) by Stella CottrellWritten by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Dissertations and project reports: a step by step guide [eBook]Bestselling author Stella Cottrell taps into her tried and tested formula for learning and brings students the essential guide to producing top-quality dissertations and project reports. The book breaks down this process into manageable chunks and covers everything from preparation and planning through to conducting research and writing up the finished article. Packed with dozens of hands-on activities and quotes from real students, this book demystifies dissertations and project reports and helps ensure that the process is an enjoyable and rewarding experience. This is an invaluable resource for students of all levels embarking on a dissertation, project report or other piece of extended writing. Its interdisciplinary approach means it is the ideal companion for students of all disciplines.