Skip to Main Content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Nutrition & Dietetics

After Leeds Beckett

This page has been developed as a result of queries from many final year students who are concerned that they may not be able to have access to a wide range of resources when they leave University.

Remember that you can still have limited access to print resources through our alumni schemes, as well as being able to use public libraries. Indeed, students who go on to work for the NHS will be able to use NHS Library and Knowledge Services as well as being able to access a Trust or Hospital Library and get help and advice from a qualified health Librarian.

The resources on this page are a collection of (mostly) freely available resources such as open access journals, websites and professional organisations designed to help you in your professional practice.

Good luck in your future profession from Leeds Beckett Library!!!

Professional organisations

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics: the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals founded in Cleveland, Ohio. Although the website has an American bias, it provides useful information for dietetics practitioners working in areas such as community-based services, health promotion, disease prevention and wellness services.

British Association of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (BAPEN):  providing information for doctors, dietitians, nurses, patients, BAPEN aims to increase awareness of malnutrition and advance nutritional care of patients in both hospital and community settings.

British Nutrition Foundation: provides evidence-based information on food and nutrition, focusing on nutritional science awareness at all levels.

British Dietetic Association: a trade union and professional body representing the professional, educational, public and workplace interests of its members. The BDA provides news and research information as well as career advice.

DEFRA: the UK government department responsible for policy and regulations on environmental, food and rural issues. 

The European Food Information Council (EUFIC): information on food safety and quality, and health and nutrition for a balanced diet and healthy lifestyle. 

Searchable databases & weblinks

NICE Evidence search: this is the NHS version of Discover and Google. Good for evidence-based information, Guidance and Nice pathways as well as good quality patient information and primary research. Some information is freely available whilst other information is subscription access only. Access to full-text information depends upon individual Trust subscriptions.

Behind the Headlines: as professionals in practice you will often be presented by patients with newspaper articles advocating the latest sensationalist treatment or stories, e.g. do overweight diabetes patients really live longer than their leaner counterparts? Do probiotic yogurts really help with hay fever? 'Behind the Headlines' is a REALLY useful resource to help you read and critique the research behind the newspaper stories.

Social Care Institute for Excellence: similar to NHS Evidence search but with a social care emphasis, contains lots of information around nutritional care in both an institutional and home environment.

Cochrane Library is a database of the gold standard in research, Systematic Reviews.

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a database of high-quality research evidence which allows you to refine your search by evidence type. An excellent resource for comparing guidelines with other countries. TRIP allows you to conduct either a simple keyword or a focused PICO search.

Pubmed is the U.S. equivalent of NHS Evidence. Access to full-text information is hit and miss.

Library Hub Discover searches over 100 UK and Irish academic, national and specialist library catalogues simultaneously for book and journal titles. Similarly, the British Library Public Catalogue is a free service which allows you to find out what material is held in the major Reference and Document Supply collections as well as providing a Chat service.

Google Scholar provides access to some full-text freely available journal articles and primary research. Remember to use your critical appraisal skills to ensure you are using the best quality evidence.

Open Access

There has recently been an increasing emphasis upon research which has been publicly funded to be made openly accessible to everybody. Research can be made available through good quality open access journal titles or through an open access subject or institutional repository. A good place to look for openly accessible journal titles and articles in your subject area is the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).

Similarly OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories which allows you to search both repositories and their contents.

In addition, we all know how frustrating it can be when you can't access a crucial journal article, or you are asked for $20 to read it. The Open Access Button helps you get the research you want by searching elsewhere to find another version. If that doesn't work, the author of the research will be notified.

Evaluating webpages & research

Remember, a crucial stage of the evidence based process is evaluating the quality of research. You can still access the freely available CASP tools to help you appraise the literature. Or, if you are evaluating a website, you can use the CARP method:

  • Currency: how up to date is the information on the website
  • Accuracy: does the author detail how the research was conducted e.g. can you find information about the sample size, or whether a pilot study was conducted, are the findings of the research transferable?
  • Authority; is the author contactable? What are their qualifications?
  • Relevancy: does the research answer your question?
  • Purpose: what is the purpose of the site. Is it to sell you something or to educate?