The Library

News Resources

Searching for a specific news title?

You can access many national, international and regional news titles via the Ejournals A-Z

Search for the title of the news source.

Newspapers

Newspapers publish information on a wide range of topics. Most are published on a daily basis in print and online, providing up-to-date information.

As well as reporting on current affairs, newspapers can be a valuable source of opinion and debate. Newspapers can be biased or subjective, so their content must be evaluated carefully.

Most newspapers have their own website where you may register (usually access is free) and view current news and a limited archive.

However, resources like Newsstand, which Leeds Beckett subscribes to, have large archives of many newspapers, all searchable in one online source.

We also take some papers in hard copy.

Logging into eresources

On Campus you may not need to login into our electronic resources if you have already used Single Sign-On to log onto a PC.

If you do need to log in on use your standard Leeds Beckett University Username and Password to access most ebooks, ejournals and databases.

You will normally see either the standard Leeds Beckett login page or an OpenAthens login page 

 Some ejournals and databases have a specific username and password.

 

 

Key news sources

PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print, some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more.

You can access and read publications as a guest user without registering to create an account. To have more features and personalization you will need to register for a PressReader account. To register, click on the Sign In option, in the top right hand corner of the screen. You can select your favourite publications and can set up email alerts when a new issue of your favourite publication has been released.

‚ÄčInfotrac Newsstand allows you to search both current and archive newspaper content. Includes a Topic Finder tool, which you can use to discover the context of your search term and uncover hidden connections.

LexisNexis UK Newspapers allows you to access the full text archive of key news titles such as The Guardian, and search across different news sources.

logo for the Times Digital Archive and link

Access to the full text of The Times between 1785 and 2010. Articles are reproduced in original format, allowing you to research both content and visual layout.

Other, more specialist news sources are available, particularly for historical research.

Contact Us

Visit Us


Opening Hours


Leeds Beckett Library YouTube ChannelLeeds Beckett Library SpotifyLeeds Beckett Library Blog on WordPress

Copying newspaper articles PDF guide

Help with Referencing

Skills for Learning provide information on the Harvard referencing system, including how to reference a variety of different formats and media.

Their guide is available online in two versions: Quote Unquote on the Skills for Learning website, and Quote Unquote PDF. You can also buy your own copy from the Library for £3.

A short introductory guide is also available online or in print in the Library.