Our Subject Support pages can help you with research for your studies.
You can also book appointments with one of our Academic Librarians.
Historical news sources allow you to research how events were portrayed in the media at the time, and also look at the format and layout of the news sources.
Gale Primary Sources allows you to search across many of our historical newspaper archives. It also includes a term frequency function. This allows you to track how often a word or phrase has been used over time, making it an ideal way to look at social developments or ideas in different historical contexts.
We have access to The British Library Newspapers collections part I and II, containing 71 titles:
Part I: 1800-1900
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stewart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal. Part I contains 49 titles that were selected by an academic advisory board for their importance for the study of the period.
Part II: 1800-1900
Part II further expands the range of English regional newspapers and the political views represented in the programme. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, helps capture conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
17th-18th Century newspapers, pamphlets, and books, all gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.
All issues of the Daily Mail between 1896 and 2004. The issues are direct replicas of the print newspapers and include advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century British culture and society.
Allows you to conduct historical research across multiple Gale primary source databases, which include Archives Unbound, British Library Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive, Gale Literature, 19th Century UK Periodicals, 17th-18th Century Newspapers, and the Times Digital Archive.
Facimilies of six 19th-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837), Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-2017) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
An online, full text facsimile of 200 years of The Times, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785 to 2019. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
A research facility that allows you to retrieve as-published pages from the back catalogues of the Daily Express (1900 to date), Daily Star (2000 to date) & Daily Mirror (1903-July 2023).
