Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Contact Us

Library Services Available During the Coronavirus Outbreak

Please see below for information about services available / restricted / unavailable until further notice. 

Please follow us on Twitter @BeckettLibrary for the most recent updates.

Service Changes Status
Library opening hours Closed until further notice Unavailable
Library and Student IT Advice

Available via phone and chat 24/7 

You can also email us 08:30 - 16:30 Monday - Friday

Available
Academic Librarian / Academic Tutor appointments Available online or by phone or email - please complete the Get Help form on the Skills and Subject Support page  Available
Electronic resources You can still access thousands of electronic resources via Discover and our Resources page. We're adding new resources to our A-Z Database list and you can request new eBooks. Available
Reading lists We are still purchasing and adding electronic resources to reading lists which can be accessed via MyBeckett Available
Learning Support Officer (Disability and Dyslexia) (Sue Smith) appointments Available online or by phone - please use the "Book an appointment" button on the Disabled and Dyslexic users page Available
Library access to SCONUL Access, Guest Users and visitors Suspended  Unavailable
Borrowing and returning books If you have been asked to clear your student accommodation or are graduating you can return you books to a drop-off point inside the main doors of the Leslie Silver Building, City Campus, 09:00 - 17:00 Monday - Friday. Please bring them in bags or boxes to make them safer to handle. Unavailable
Reservations Suspended Unavailable
Laptop loans Suspended Unavailable
Printing Suspended Unavailable
Student meeting rooms Suspended  Unavailable
Library top up kiosks Suspended  Unavailable
Media equipment loans Suspended Unavailable
Sconul Access applications Suspended  Unavailable
Interlibrary loans You are still able to request Interlibrary loan journal articles and book chapters via MyBeckett. Our Interlibrary loan book request service has been suspended until further notice.  Available
Offsite loans (distance users) Suspended Unavailable
Beckett Books Extra Suspended but you can request eBooks via our temporary service Unavailable
Scanning and digitisation services Suspended  Unavailable
Guest user applications Suspended  Unavailable
Reactivation of student email address (Graduated students) Please email Library@leedsbeckett.ac.uk Available

Alternative Access

The table below will provide alternative access to some of our services if any are temporarily unavailable. 

Service Alternative if Unavailable
Discover

If Discover is unavailable use our List of databases which you can filter by subject

or our 5 main journal databases:

You can also use the Library Catalogue to search for books and eBooks.

Online access to  journal articles This page provides alternative links to accessing many of our journals and databases
Turnitin This page provides advice on what to do if MyBeckett, Turnitin, Pebblepad or CAGD is unavailable
Library Catalogue If the Library Catalogue is unavailable you can search Discover to access journal articles instead or browse individual eBook collections. Links to eBooks from your Reading Lists via MyBeckett should still work.
MyBeckett If MyBeckett is unavailable this page provides direct access to Library and other services and systems.
Library Website If the Library website is unavailable you can access the Library Catalogue, Journals A-Z and your Reading Lists via MyBeckett.