Skip to Main Content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library: New Academic Resources for 2023/4

New Academic Resources for 2023/4

For 2023-24 the Library has invested in several new digital resources which academics may add to online reading lists and use for teaching, assignments, or research. Recommendations for new additions during the 23/24 academic year will be considered on a quarterly basis – please contact your Academic Librarian team for more information or to recommend a new resource. If you are a student and have a recommendation for stock please use our Request It service.

Databases:

eBook Collections:

Elgar Online

Elgar Online gives us access to more than 1254 new eBook titles in a huge range of subject areas including: Business and Management, Research Methods, Gender, Health and Wellbeing, Geography and Tourism as well as Political Science and Public Policy.

IET

We have recently vastly expanded our holdings on the IET platform. We now have access to eBooks from 2010- 2023. This is a great resource for anyone interested in recently released titles in Computer Science, Information Technology, Built Environment or Engineering.

Screen Studies

This platform from Bloomsbury, Faber and the British Film Institute is designed to support moving-image studies. We have access to 250 titles from the following collections: Auteur Film Studies, BFI Film Studies and Television Histories and Industries.

IGI Global 

A multi-disciplinary collection of 6,650 titles in the following subject areas: Business and Management, Computer Science and Information Technology, Education, Environmental and Physical Sciences, Information Science, Media and Communications, Medical, Healthcare, and Life Sciences, Government and Law and Science and Engineering.

LWW Classic Book Collection 

The Lippincott Williams & Wilkins classic collection is a set of more than 1000 eBooks on the Ovid platform. These are all editions previous to the most recent, which allows access to earlier studies, theoretical developments and techniques. The collection covers over 50 specialty areas including: medicine, nursing, and pharmacology amongst others.

Science Direct  

For this academic year we have obtained access to over 9000 eBook titles from Science Direct’s Science and Technology Collections. There are books on everything from biotechnology to machine learning through to wireless networking, and many other topics.

Latest Books

Recent additions to stock for books can be found on our dedicated web pages: