These collections cover a wide range of topics including sustainability, consumer trends, health, supply chain, and demographic surveys.
Market research reports in UK, European and US consumer markets. Mintel includes trends, statistics, news, information on brands and companies, and demographic data on a range of sectors. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
Marketing data from around the world showing market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories.
We recommend using Google Chrome to access Mintel.
MarketLine contains global market research and company analysis reports covering sectors including consumer goods, finance, food and drink and technology. Contains PESTLE Country Analysis reports for the top 50 countries in the world (GDP) and PEST country analysis of the top 100 countries (GDP). Access SWOT analysis for many major companies, just type the company name in the search box. You can also search by industry.
22/4/24 - If you encounter a recaptcha error please use an alternate browser (eg Edge, Firefox).
Collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings covering a wide range of industries within the UK. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts, Brexit Impact Reports and insight into operation conditions, including the supply chain.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search you can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the web.
UK Data Service offers a single point of access to a wide range of economic and social data from the Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS), Census Programme, Secure Data Service and others, including some international datasets. The UK Data Service has produced a guide on ways to get data which will help you access the data they hold in their collections:
| Data source | Description |
|---|---|
|
An introductory guide for students using the UK Data Service. |
|
| UK surveys |
A range of UK survey data, addressing social attitudes, crime, health and lifestyle. Includes: Labour Force Survey, British Social Attitudes, National Food Survey and English Housing Survey. |
|
The UKDS holds a range of different types of census data from 1971 to 2011. See the Census Support site for more information. |
|
|
The UKDS provides access to several key longitudinal studies, including major panel and internationally-renowned cohort studies. Includes: British Household Panel Survey, Millennium Cohort Study and National Child Development Study. |
|
|
The UKDS holds a collection of business microdata, provided by the Office for National Statistics. Includes: UK Innovation Survey and Business Structure Database. |
|
|
Non-numeric information, such as in-depth interview transcripts, diaries, anthropological field notes, answers to open-ended survey questions, audio-visual recordings and images. Includes: Family Life of Old People, Gender Difference, Anxiety and the Fear of Crime and Retail Competition And Consumer Choice. |
|
|
Cross-national surveys typically refer to studies where the same survey instrument is used across many nations. Includes: Eurobarometer Surveys, European Election Study and International Social Survey Programme. |
|
|
Major statistical publications produced by intergovernmental organisations e.g. World Bank, International Monetary Fund, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. |
The Bank of England publish data and statistics that they use to help develop the banking system and understand economic trends. The section also includes a selection of research datasets.
Explaining Britain's electoral behaviour for over 50 years, The British Election Study is a non-partisan, objective independent study providing world-class data and research into the 2015 British general election, and has covered every British general election since 1964.
The Centre for Longitudinal Study Information and User Support is an ESRC-funded support team for UK academic, statutory and voluntary sector users of the Office for National Statistics (ONS) Longitudinal Study (LS).
Primary care data are linked to a range of other health related data to provide a longitudinal, representative UK population health dataset. The data encompass 60 million patients, including 18 million currently registered patients.
Search and browse questionnaires and data from the UK’s leading longitudinal studies.
Official statistics produced by government departments.
Complete population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.
NHS data dashboards provides a way to explore some of the NHS' datasets.
Official statistics produced by the Northern Ireland Executive.
The Northern Ireland Longitudinal Study Research Support Unit (NILS) provides longitudinal data from the Northern Ireland Health Card Registration system to the 1981, 1991, 2001 and 2011 Census returns.
Statistics and publications produced by the UK Statistics Authority.
A rich source of documents and data across a range of UK health and wellbeing themes including child and maternal health; dementia; health protection; mental health; obesity; palliative care; physical activity; sexual health.
Official statistics produced by the Scottish Government
The Scottish Longitudinal Study Development Support Unit provides access to a study created using census data from 1991 onwards, NHS Central Register data, and education data.
Find data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies to help you build products and services.
Government surveys, statistics and other datasets from the National Digital Archive of Datasets, 1963-2010.
Official Statistics produced by the Welsh Government.
A pan-African series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, and society.
Information and statistics on the countries of the world.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. See also Healthdata.gov Health data from the US government.
Open data published by EU institutions and bodies. All the data you can find via this catalogue are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
This is the Statistical Office of the European Communities, providing freely accessible EU statistics. Access to microdata available with the submission of a research proposal. Microdata are the units of data that aggregate statistics are compiled from. Full details for applying for access available here
The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger.
Resource covering a wide range of health data. Data can be used, shared and built upon with a creative commons licence.
The Google Public Data Explorer aims to make large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Datasets covered are limited but include World Development Indicators (World Bank), Human Development Indicators (UN) and OECD Factbook.
The ILO Department of Statistics is the focal point to the United Nations for labour statistics. Allows access to international statistics on all aspects of labour, employment and the labour market worldwide including country and thematic sections. Topics covered include women and work, migrant labour, the working poor.
The IMF oversees the international monetary system and monitors the financial and economic policies of its members. It keeps track of economic developments on a national, regional, and global basis, consulting regularly with member countries. See Data tab for time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
Although not completely authoritative, the easy user interface will take you quickly to informative data. Sources for all facts and figures are cited. Most statistics come from international agencies, such as U.S. Census Bureau and UNESCO.
The OECD collects statistics needed for the analysis of economic and social developments by its in-house analysts, committees, working parties, and member country governments from statistical agencies and other institutions of its member countries.
Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems
Market insights, trends and research on digital marketing from Google.
Access to commodity trade data for all available countries and areas since 1962. To get access to the full dataset without any restrictions on the number of rows please click on the Legacy link at the top of the page. If your data query is more than 150,000 rows you will need to submit your query via "batch processing".
Collates the data from several major UN databases and allows the user to browse or search multiple resources.
Provides access to statistical information, collected by the United Nations (UN) from member states, on a variety of topics.
Socio-economic and census data about the United States.
Access to major international trade, tariffs and non-tariff data compilations.
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
The World Health organisation provides access to health data with links to poverty, pollution, and other criteria with country comparisons. See also The Global Health Observatory (WHO) Explore a vast range of global health data on topics such as malaria, mental health, tropical diseases and the environment and health.
Real-time world data.
Statistical information consists of collected facts and figures about a particular topic or group of people. The information comes in many formats but is often presented in tables or charts and can cover recent or historical periods.
If you can't find the information you're looking for, try thinking about which agency or organisation might collect the data and look at their website or contact them. A word of caution, though: not everything is recorded and the data might not have been collected.
Our Subject Support pages can help you with research for your studies and you can also book an appointments with one of your Academic Librarians.
