Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Accounting & Finance

Auditing

  • Audit Commission The Audit Commission is responsible for ensuring that public money is used economically, efficiently and effectively. The site gives details about the auditing process, the Commission's structure and strategy and an FAQ section. 
  • Auditor Independence Resources A comprehensive collection of press releases, policy documents and articles on auditor independence in the UK, US and across the world.
  • Financial Reporting Council The Financial Reporting Council is the UK independent regulator which deals with corporate reporting and governance. 
  • Institute of Internal Auditors The IIA is "the only professional body in the UK and Ireland solely dedicated to the professional practice of internal auditing." 

International Financial Reporting standards

To view the Accounting Framework Document published by the International Accounting Standards Board:

  1. Set up a free account at https://www.ifrs.org/register/ (this gives access to limited, free content only). 
  2. Login at http://eifrs.ifrs.org/eifrs/Menu
  3. Click on 'Conceptual Framework' at the top of the left side menu.

Taxation

  • AccountingWeb Tax Zone An impressive resource aimed at the accountancy professional, but equally valuable for the academic community. 
  • Association of Taxation Technicians The leading professional body for those providing tax compliance services and related activities in the UK. 
  • Chartered Institute of Taxation  Tax for the Beginner' includes facts and figures; an explanation about self assessment; how to pick a tax adviser and how to complain. 'Tax for the Expert' includes detailed information about best practice; ethical guidance; technical tax and tax software.
  • Finance and Tax Tribunal Decisions Includes the VAT and Duties Tribunals, Special Commissioners and Financial Services and Markets Tribunal. 
  • Gray's Inn Tax Chambers Includes a tax case reporting service developed and hosted by tax barristers at Gray's Inn Tax Chambers in London, England. 
  • Institute for Fiscal Studies The Institute for Fiscal Studies is a research institute which exists to provide top quality economic analysis independent of government, political party or any other vested interest.
  • OECD taxation This is the home page of the tax section of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development). 
  • Worldwide-Tax.com  Aims to provide information on tax systems in many countries. Click on the chosen country link to access information on tax, tax news, tax rates, tax law, tax experts, VAT and financial facts. 

Banking

Bank of England Contains links to publications and statistics.

Central Bank Websites Contains links to the websites of central banks around the world.

European Financial Integration Reports This web page provides links to reports published by the Commission on EU financial integration, European financial stability issues and EU financial services policy.

HM Treasury The Treasury is the United Kingdom's economics and finance ministry, responsible for formulating and implementing the Government's financial and economic policy.

Independent Banking Advisory Service IBAS provides specialist UK Business Banking help.

TheCityUK TheCityUK is the new, independent membership body for promoting the UK-based financial and professional services industry.

Women in Banking and Finance Women in Banking and Finance (WIBF) is a non-profit making leading professional organisation committed to empowering its members in the banking and finance industry to realise their full potential.