Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Childhood & Early Years

Newspapers

Newspapers publish information on a wide range of topics. Most are published on a daily basis in print and online, providing up-to-date information.

As well as reporting on current affairs, newspapers can be a valuable source of opinion and debate. Newspapers can be biased or subjective, so their content must be evaluated carefully.

Most newspapers have their own website where you may register (usually access is free) and view current news and a limited archive.

However, resources like Newsstand, which Leeds Beckett subscribes to, have large archives of many newspapers, all searchable in one online source.

We also take some papers in hard copy and the ones we subscribe to are on the Print News Resources tab. 

Copying newspaper articles

Newspapers are protected by copyright. Information on copying articles under licence is available. 

Key news sources

PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print, some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more.

You can access and read publications as a guest user without registering to create an account. To have more features and personalization you will need to register for a PressReader account. To register, click on the Sign In option, in the top right hand corner of the screen. You can select your favourite publications and can set up email alerts when a new issue of your favourite publication has been released.

Gale OneFile: News allows you to search both current and archive international newspaper content. Includes a Topic Finder tool, which you can use to discover the context of your search term and uncover hidden connections.

Lexis Library News allows you to access the full text archive of key UK news titles such as The Guardian, and search across different news sources.

The Times Access full text content between 1785 and 2012. Articles are reproduced in original format, allowing you to research both content and visual layout.

Other, more specialist news sources are available, particularly for historical research.