Search the databases to identify material helpful for your assignments. Most databases index individual articles or papers from journals and newspapers. Some of these databases provide access to the full text document online, others provide the citation information needed to locate the article.
Some databases provide access to non text information like statistics, images, sound effects or music.
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. It provides information on a range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, social sciences and more.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
Online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 TV and radio channels. These channels include BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, BBC 4, Film 4 and radio channels including Radio 4 and lots more. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of over 2 million programmes that is fully searchable.
Available in the UK. If you are in a non-EU country, the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and you may not access BoB content, even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) provides extensive access to indexed and full text educational resources. It contains 1.6 million records, is authorative as it is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Journals indexed include Action Learning: Research and Practice, Childhood Education and Research in Education, providing information on a wide range of education related subjects.
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database also covers literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other research instruments. Focused on a collection of instrumentation tools developed for research but not made commercially available, PsycTESTS helps researchers easily find scales and measures for their own use.
Research in Practice brings together academic research, practice expertise and the experiences of people accessing services to support children and families, young people and adults.
Full text access to over 380 Sage Publication titles subscribed to by The Library mainly in the social sciences, including titles on law (mainly crime and criminal justice), business, humanities, science, technology and medicine.
A comprehensive sociology research database and includes extensive coverage of all sub-disciplines and related subject areas. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 800 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for over 15,000 conference papers.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Publishers of scholarly journals, books, eBooks, reference works, and databases, the content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
