Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Education

Sources of information on educational theory and philosophy

Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) 

Set up in 1929 by Dr. Maria Montessori to protect and promote her life's work. The website lays out the basis of Montessorian thought in The Pedagogy and a list of objectives of the AMI.

Infed 

A guide to all aspects of informal education, including a history, descriptions of key theorists, a glossary of key terminology and bibliographies. Information is broken down by ideas, thinkers and practice with links to articles and related websites on each topic.

John Dewey

This is a full-text electronic version of 'Democracy and Education', first published in 1916. It is the fullest exposition of Dewey's educational beliefs.

 Rudolf Steiner Archive

This archive includes web versions of the works of Rudolf Steiner and related materials.

Educational development and learning theory

Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) 

The website lays out the basis of Montessorian thought in The Pedagogy and a list of objectives of the AMI.

High/Scope Educational Research Foundation  

An independent non-profit research, development and training organisation based in Michigan in the United States. High/Scope is an "educational approach for infants and toddlers, preschoolers, elementary-aged students, and adolescents".

Jean Piaget Society  

Content of the site includes information about Piaget for students and teachers, web links, conference details, newsletter, publications, mailing lists, committee information and contact details.

Learning styles and pedagogy in post-16 education: A systematic and critical review 

Coffield, F. Moseley, D. Hall, E. and Eccleston, K (2004) Learning styles and pedagogy in post-16 education: A systematic and critical review Learning and Skills Research Centre.  This report critically reviews the literature on learning styles and examines in detail 13 of the most influential models.

Montessori Foundation  

A non-profit organisation dedicated to the advancement of Montessori education in the United States and throughout the world.

Online Waldorf Library 

A website of resources pertaining to Waldorf education. It includes links to Waldorf related journals, research and dissertations, as well as a bibliographic database.

North American Reggio Emilia Alliance 

Reggio Emilia is a town in northern Italy which has developed an internationally renowned programme of early childhood care and education.

Rudolf Steiner Archive

This archive includes web versions of the works of Rudolf Steiner and related materials.