Skip to Main Content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Fashion & Fashion Marketing

Image taken from page 874 of 'The National and Domestic History of England ... With numerous steel plates, coloured pictures, etc'

Image taken from page 874 of 'The National and Domestic History of England'.

Find this and over one million other copyright free images on the British Library Photostream.

Copyright aware

Copyright Aware is a BBC website explaining what copyright is and gives guidance on how you can protect your own creative work and how to use other people's work legally.

Copyright guidelines

Audio visual materials in the Library

The Library has a collection of film, television and video games available to borrow.

To search the collection go to Discover and on the Advanced Search screen choose which format you would like the results to be, e.g. DVD video, sound recording, etc.

V&A YouTube Channel

The V&A YouTube Channel is the V&A's online film magazine. The high quality films feature items in the V&A's collection, celebrity interviews from private views and exhibition showcases.

Tate Audio Arts

An online collection of 30 years worth of audio content called Audio Arts. This was established by British artist Bill Furlong in 1972 who captured sound art and recorded interviews with world famous artists. More than 900 individual artists are included in the collection, such as Marcel Duchamp, Andy Warhol, Joseph Beuys and Tracey Emin.

Image databases

Free image websites

Even if an image is "free" it should still be acknowledged if you use it. A Harvard reference for an online image would look like this:

Norfolk, S. (2016) Oscar Niemeyer staircase [Online image]. Available from: <http://www.simonnorfolk.com/meanderings/meander-01> [Accessed 24 July 2019].

You can find guidelines for referencing images and other sources on Skills for Learning.

British Council Visual Arts Collection

Artworks by British artists bought to demonstrate the very best in contemporary British practice in all medias. Over 8,500 works of British art can be found on the website.

British Library Photostream

The British Library has uploaded over one million public domain scans from 17th-19th century books to Flickr. The images are maps, geological diagrams, illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and more scanned from 65,000 volumes held by the British Library and they can be used and adapted for any purpose.

British Museum

More than 800,000 images from the British Museum’s Collections.

D&AD

Design and Art Direction (D&AD) has an online archive of the finest examples of design and advertising.

Design Museum Online Archive

Online examples of pioneering design with images from the museum's collections.

Europeana Fashion

Includes more than 700,000 fashion objects from more than 30 European public and private archives and museums. The content ranges from historical dresses to accessories, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, videos, and fashion catalogues.

Getty Images Embed Tool

Getty Images is a photobank of stock images and photographs, made available for use in websites, blogs and social media platforms through their embed tool (only currently works when off-campus).

The Getty Open Content Program

The J. Paul Getty Trust makes freely available all digital images to which it holds the rights, or that are in the public domain, to be used for any purpose. Currently, there are more than 140,000 images.

Indianapolis Museum of Art

Over 27,000 high-quality images available for viewing, including thousands you can download for personal, scholarly or commercial use. The collections of this museum comprise paintings, sculpture, decorative and industrial design, prints, drawings and photographs, as well as textiles and fashion arts.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Costume Institute

Over 30,000 high-resolution images from the Met's Costume Institute collection which may be downloaded directly from the Museum's website for non-commercial use - including in scholarly publications in any media - without permission from the Museum and without a fee.

OpenGlam Open Collections

A compilation of openly licensed image collections from several cultural institutions. All of those listed contain images that can be freely used without restriction.

Reading Pictures: Images of Woman in Advertising

A free resource for students studying the visual component of mass media, taking advertising in women’s magazines as its focus. It includes extracts from the original PhD research from 1975, together with updates from 2012 and 2018. It also provides guidance on methodology, a comprehensive gallery of advertisements from both periods and draws conclusions about the changes in female stereotypes over the intervening decades.

V&A Images

Over 783,000 images from the V&A collections, including their comprehensive Textiles, Costume and Fashion collection.

Video databases