Search the databases to identify material helpful for your assignments. Most databases index individual articles or papers from journals and newspapers. Some of these databases provide access to the full text document online, others provide the citation information needed to locate the article.
Some databases provide access to non text information like statistics, images, sound effects or music.
Comprehensive 3D anatomy atlas, professional reference and image library of human anatomy. Fully interactive anatomical models, which are a recommended resource for a number of health related courses.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 2,500 journals indexed in CINAHL. The subjects covered in this database include speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
Free (within England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland) database covering abstracts and full text of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions. Also contains a bibliography of controlled trials; articles on the science of research synthesis; economic evaluations of health care interventions and healthcare technology assessments.
You can also access Cochrane Clinical Answers, aimed at healthcare professionals. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, containing millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings from the NLM controlled vocabulary.
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database also covers literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
After clicking ‘Access Database’ there is a known problem when trying to subsequently sign in to a personal account. Please try the sign in process a couple of times, or if an error occurs clear cache/cookies or go incognito - eventually you should be authenticated and signed in - you will see your initials top right of screen if so.
A comprehensive sociology research database and includes extensive coverage of all sub-disciplines and related subject areas. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 800 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for over 15,000 conference papers.
Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines and queries, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier.
