Search the databases to identify material helpful for your assignments. Most databases index individual articles or papers from journals and newspapers. Some of these databases provide access to the full text document online, others provide the citation information needed to locate the article.
Some databases provide access to non text information like statistics, images, sound effects or music.
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. It provides information on a range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, social sciences and more.
Comprehensive 3D anatomy atlas, professional reference and image library of human anatomy. Fully interactive anatomical models, which are a recommended resource for a number of health related courses.
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 2,500 journals indexed in CINAHL. The subjects covered in this database include speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
Free (within England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland) database covering abstracts and full text of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions. Also contains a bibliography of controlled trials; articles on the science of research synthesis; economic evaluations of health care interventions and healthcare technology assessments.
You can also access Cochrane Clinical Answers, aimed at healthcare professionals. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, containing millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings from the NLM controlled vocabulary.
A free Physiotherapy Evidence database of over 22,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Full text access to over 380 Sage Publication titles subscribed to by The Library mainly in the social sciences, including titles on law (mainly crime and criminal justice), business, humanities, science, technology and medicine.
Collection of eBooks and ejournals which mainly covers the subject areas of: Computer Science, Engineering, Business, Management and Accounting, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Health Sciences and Psychology.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
After clicking ‘Access Database’ there is a known problem when trying to subsequently sign in to a personal account. Please try the sign in process a couple of times, or if an error occurs clear cache/cookies or go incognito - eventually you should be authenticated and signed in - you will see your initials top right of screen if so.
Comprehensive research tool for sports and sports medicine, with full text for more than 350 journals dating back to 1985.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Database of references to some books and journal articles taken from a wide variety of subject areas. Full text access is only available to some 400 of the thousands of publications listed. You can only see the full text of those items that have an open lock symbol next to them. If no such symbol appears you do not have full text access.
