Search the databases to identify material helpful for your assignments. Most databases index individual articles or papers from journals and newspapers. Some of these databases provide access to the full text document online, others provide the citation information needed to locate the article.
Some databases provide access to non text information like statistics, images, sound effects or music.
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. It provides information on a range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences, social sciences and more.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) provides extensive access to indexed and full text educational resources. It contains 1.6 million records, is authorative as it is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Journals indexed include Action Learning: Research and Practice, Childhood Education and Research in Education, providing information on a wide range of education related subjects.
A definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from key journal titles. Coverage: 1894 to present.
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database also covers literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Research in Practice brings together academic research, practice expertise and the experiences of people accessing services to support children and families, young people and adults.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
After clicking ‘Access Database’ there is a known problem when trying to subsequently sign in to a personal account. Please try the sign in process a couple of times, or if an error occurs clear cache/cookies or go incognito - eventually you should be authenticated and signed in - you will see your initials top right of screen if so.
A comprehensive sociology research database and includes extensive coverage of all sub-disciplines and related subject areas. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 800 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for over 15,000 conference papers.
Publishers of scholarly journals, books, eBooks, reference works, and databases, the content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Database of references to some books and journal articles taken from a wide variety of subject areas. Full text access is only available to some 400 of the thousands of publications listed. You can only see the full text of those items that have an open lock symbol next to them. If no such symbol appears you do not have full text access.
