Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 2,500 journals indexed in CINAHL. The subjects covered in this database include speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
A special emphasis on contemporary topics, featuring world-renowned therapists demonstrating their methods and techniques, state of the art as of 2005 or later. The collection also includes documentaries providing insight into the human condition and training in skills such as reflection and empathy.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, containing millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings from the NLM controlled vocabulary.
A definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from key journal titles. Coverage: 1894 to present.
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database also covers literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other research instruments. Focused on a collection of instrumentation tools developed for research but not made commercially available, PsycTESTS helps researchers easily find scales and measures for their own use.
Comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
A comprehensive sociology research database and includes extensive coverage of all sub-disciplines and related subject areas. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 800 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for over 15,000 conference papers.
A-N focuses on conversations around the critical and professional environment for the visual arts. It contains news, careers and professional development information for all aspects of arts in the UK. There are resources on: setting up open exhibitions, funding, increasing productivity, and news about curatorial initiatives.
Please note, you will need individual membership to use the current 'jobs and opps' listings.
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984. Also including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
*28/9/23 - if unable to access, please clear your cache/cookies or use an alternative browser eg Microsoft Edge
More than 2 million images from 300 collections, which are updated monthly. The images are curated from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research. Images can be found on a range of subjects, including: anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, history, fashion and costume, literature, religion, world history and more.
You can download images and image details individually. Once you have logged in using your username and password you will have to register for a free account in order to download. Register using your student email address and by registering you will be able to access saved folders and organize images into groups.
More than 200,000 fully-catalogued British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines. Artwork dates from 19th century to the present day, by over 300 artists. Covers all areas of British political cartoons and caricature and covers these themes extensively: political commentary of 20th century; Victorian and Edwardian caricature; Societal commentary; World wars; Domestic life.
This is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.
VADS is a service of the Centre for Digital Scholarship in the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.
Although you should use the databases and Discover to search across a range of publications for relevant journal articles, the following publications have been of particular use to students and professionals:
