Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

PR & Journalism

Access to hundreds of quality tv programmes

The LeedsBeckett Player is intended to work as an in-house equivalent to YouTube and iPlayer. Content is selected by university staff and includes recordings of recent and historic film and television broadcasts, as well as in-house content such as inaugural lectures and Graduation ceremonies.

Log in here (available on and off-campus but not outside the UK).

 

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) Logging into BoB

Online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 60 TV and radio channels. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of at over 1 million programmes. 

Image bank

Pexels A collection of free to use stock photos.

Key news sources

PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print, some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more.

You can access and read publications as a guest user without registering to create an account. To have more features and personalization you will need to register for a PressReader account. To register, click on the Sign In option, in the top right hand corner of the screen. You can select your favourite publications and can set up email alerts when a new issue of your favourite publication has been released.

Gale OneFile: News allows you to search both current and archive international newspaper content. Includes a Topic Finder tool, which you can use to discover the context of your search term and uncover hidden connections.

Lexis Library News allows you to access the full text archive of key UK news titles such as The Guardian, and search across different news sources.

The Times Access full text content between 1785 and 2012. Articles are reproduced in original format, allowing you to research both content and visual layout.

Other, more specialist news sources are available, particularly for historical research.

Historical news sources

Historical media

Financial Times

Financial Times

Online: To search in the FT go to ​Infotrac Newsstand and type Financial Times into the Publication box, then type your search terms in the main search box. There is a 2 month delay to content.