The word processor plugins are bundled with Zotero and should be installed as a Word ribbon automatically on your computer when you first start Zotero. Zotero has over 10,000 styles, including Leeds Beckett Harvard, APA and OSCOLA as well as the key journal styles in use.
Change styles from the Zotero Styles Repository.
In Word, on the Zotero ribbon, click Document Preferences:
Under the list of citation styles click Manage styles:
If you can’t see the style you need (e.g. Leeds Beckett Harvard, OSCOLA or APA etc.) in the list, click ‘Get additional styles':
Search for your style, e.g. ‘Leeds’:
Then select the style once more and click OK:
While you are in this menu click on Word Processor tab and tick the button Use classic Add Citation dialog:
This will help when you insert citations in the word processor.
You can begin citing with Zotero by clicking the “Add/Edit Citation” button. Pressing the button brings up the red citation dialog. You can start typing part of the title or the last names of one or more authors in the dialog box:
This is useful if you know exactly what you are citing, but it is recommend that you click on the arrow next to the ‘Z’ icon in the red dialog and choose “Classic View”:
This shows your entire library structure and additional options e.g. Omit Author, add Page numbers, add Multiple Sources:
To permanently switch Classic View on (recommended), in Zotero click Edit > Preferences. In the Zotero Preferences > Cite tab choose Word Processors tab and click the Use Classic Add citation dialog button:
Citations changed in Word will revert back to the Zotero version when your document refreshes so always make sure to return to Zotero and correct the bibliographic data in the relevant item field.
To edit a citation already inserted into Word from Zotero, e.g. to add page numbers, remove author name, select the citation in the text so it highlights grey, then click on Insert/Edit citation. Click on the citation in the search pane to open the quick edit box and make your changes.
Of cited items
Clicking the “Add/Edit Bibliography” button inserts a bibliography at the cursor location. You can edit which items appear in the bibliography by clicking the “Add/Edit Bibliography” button again, which will open the bibliography editor. See below. Manual edits made to the bibliography in Word will be overwritten if you choose to refresh Zotero, it is best to make changes in the library or just before submission.
Of your whole library / a collection
Select the references or collections you want to include. You can select multiple items by holding the control key, or CTRL+A for the whole library. Right-click one of the selected items and choose "Create Bibliography." Keep in mind you can select multiple items and "Create Bibliography from Items" or you can select a collection and "Create Bibliography from Collection". A window will prompt you to select multiple options:
