Trade journals or magazines are written for people working in the media industry. They feature articles that focus on contemporary topics of interest to media professionals and will often include industry-specific advertising and job postings. Some useful media trade journals we have are:
Provides access to standard version of the global business based FT.com. No access to premium content such as Lex.
Creative Review focuses on commercial creativity, design, advertising, photography, branding, digital products, film, and gaming. Updated daily with analysis, comment, opinion and advice on life in the creative industries. As well as the online content, you can also access every print issue of the Creative Review magazine in the digital archive, from 1980 onwards.
Before accessing you will need to register with your LBU email, as per below. After which you will be able to access the content. (To log back in, click on the head and shoulders icon top right of the homepage).
Apologies, but after registration, there is a 48 hour delay to access the print version of Creative Review online.
Careers in Creative Industries
Comprising original empirical studies of career-making in the creative sector, this book takes in theatre, music, film, TV, visual arts, fashion design, and architecture as creative industries. This format facilitates comparative analysis of central features of career-making within as well as across both specific industries and national contexts. The book is at the forefront and intersection of contemporary career research and research on work in creative industries / the cultural economy, intertwining both subjective and objective approaches to and dimensions of career. The contributors move beyond the dichotomies that have characterized recent career theory and work on creative industries to examine factors that facilitate and restrict horizontal and vertical mobility. Spanning a diverse range of case studies, from German theatre to Danish fashion, this book is a valuable reference for scholars of the creative and cultural industries and important reading for thoser interested in careers more generally.
Careers in Media and Film
How to become a journalist : the insider's guide to getting a career in journalism
Do you want to become a journalist? It’s a career many aspire to have and this book will give you the best possible chance.
The author has worked in journalism for more than 20 years so it truly is an insider’s guide.
The principles you will learn will set you up for a job as a journalist in newspapers, radio or television.
The book gives you templates to help you write news stories and features and top tips on exactly what you should do when you report courts cases, inquests and meetings.
You will find out how journalists use social media as a publishing channel and as a source for breaking news.
There are also tips on how to take photographs for use in newspapers and on news websites and advice on how to pass an interview for a job in journalism.
This book is an ideal companion for anyone considering a job as a journalist, whether you are a school student, a graduate or someone thinking about switching careers.
Radio Today
Industry news about UK radio stations.
ABC releases data for the UK media industry to use when trading print, digital and event advertising. The Data Hub contains the latest ABC data, with headline figures & certificates going back to 2000, including detailed data back to 2017 where available. The database allows you to analyse and export data quickly and efficiently from a trusted source.
Part news site, part platform, CORQ. is an influencer intelligence, influencer discovery and digital trend forecasting service used by brands, agencies and media companies.
News for the marketing and media industries, with stories, job search resources, events listing, and features. Includes creative campaigns from around the world and the latest marketing advice and insights.
*For access please register with your Leeds Beckett University email address*
Radio resources bringing together archives of Independent Local Radio from 1973 to 1996.
Extensive reports and data on the entertainment industry, giving forecasts, integrated audience insights and global trend analysis. Particularly useful for research within music, television, gaming, media and marketing.
Market research reports in UK, European and US consumer markets. Mintel includes trends, statistics, news, information on brands and companies, and demographic data on a range of sectors. Please note Mintel has a 200 concurrent user license.
Music Industry Data (Music ID) compiles global music industry data into three areas:
A leading trend forecasting service, containing resources for fashion design, real time information on trends and portfolios of resources connected to product categories.
*28/9/23 majority of the site is available without an account by clicking ‘Access Database’. However some content (including downloads) require an account to access - see below.*
If you cannot login to your account, please try a password reset. If still unable and seeing an error regarding not accessing for 90 days or location error, please email contactus@wgsn.com from your student email account.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. *Please note we do not have access to the Insights content.
Includes statistics such as:
Online access to the Census of England and Wales held on 21 March 2021 by the Office for National Statistics.
Provides statistics at European level (from the European Union statistics office in Luxembourg) that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Provides statistics on a range of areas, such as population, international trade and transportation to show comparisons between countries and regions within the EU.
The latest comprehensive range of official UK statistics about the economy, population and society at national and local level. Summaries and detailed data releases are published free of charge.
A comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It contains single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
