Google Images provides access to images from thousands of different websites, along with a disclaimer for each image: Image may be subject to copyright
Google Images is not a royalty-free image site.
It is important that you check the original source of an image to clarify whether it can be further copied.
To search for images which can be re-used without seeking permission, click on the Search Tools link, then choose Usage Rights. You will then be able to narrow your search to those images which can be freely re-used, or shared under a Creative Commons licence or similar.
Artstor provides access to over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Comprises contributions from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
The British Cartoon Archive contains over 125,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons dating from 1904. They are searchable and browsable by date, by cartoonist, or by keyword.
The British Library has one million public domain scans of images from its 17th-19th century holdings. The images are maps, geological diagrams, illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and more. They can be used and adapted for any purpose.
Europeana is Europe's culture - collected for you. Explore more than 40 million items from a range of Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
Getty Images is a photobank of stock images and photographs, part of whose collection is available for use in websites, blogs and social media platforms through their embed tool (only currently works when off-campus).
Tate Images holds the national collection of British art from 1500 and also international modern art.
The V&A collections have over 43,000 images which are free for educational use.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.
VADS is a service of the Centre for Digital Scholarship in the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.