Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Art

Image taken from page 58 of 'Fringilla. Some tales in verse ... Pictured by Louis Fairfax Muckley. With III drawings by John Linton'

Image taken from page 58 of 'Fringilla. Some tales in verse ... Pictured by Louis Fairfax Muckley. With III drawings by John Linton'.

Find this and over one million other copyright free images on the British Library Photostream

Audio visual materials in the Library

The Library has a collection of film, television and video games available to borrow.

To search the collection go to the Library Catalogue and at the right-hand side in the 'Other Ways To Search' select 'Audio-Visual Titles' then type your search terms into the box.

Image databases

Free image websites

Even if an image is "free" it should still be acknowledged if you use it. A Harvard reference for an online image would look like this:

Norfolk, S. (2016) Oscar Niemeyer staircase [Online image]. Available from: <http://www.simonnorfolk.com/meanderings/meander-01> [Accessed 24 July 2019].

You can find guidelines for referencing images and other sources on Skills for Learning.

Art UK

The showcase for art in every UK public collection and is a collaboration between over 3,250 British institutions.

British Council Visual Arts Collection

Artworks by British artists bought to demonstrate the very best in contemporary British practice in all medias. Over 8,500 works of British art can be found on the website.

British Library Photostream

The British Library has uploaded over one million public domain scans from 17th-19th century books to Flickr. The images are maps, geological diagrams, illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and more scanned from 65,000 volumes held by the British Library and they can be used and adapted for any purpose.

British Museum

More than 800,000 images from the British Museum’s Collections.

Europeana Art

Explore over 58 million digital resources, including artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Getty Images Embed Tool

Getty Images is a photobank of stock images and photographs, made available for use in websites, blogs and social media platforms through their embed tool (only currently works when off-campus).

The Getty Open Content Program

The J. Paul Getty Trust makes freely available all digital images to which it holds the rights, or that are in the public domain, to be used for any purpose. Currently, there are more than 140,000 images.

Google Arts and Culture

Content from over 1,200 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to provide high-resolution images of their artworks.

Indianapolis Museum of Art

Over 27,000 high-quality images available for viewing, including thousands you can download for personal, scholarly or commercial use. The collections of this museum comprise paintings, sculpture, decorative and industrial design, prints, drawings and photographs, as well as textiles and fashion arts.

LIFE Photo Archive

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE magazine's photo archive, from the 1750s to today. Images include famous personalities as well as photos of historical and cultural events.

Metropolitan Museum

View highlights of The Met’s collections spanning more than 5,000 years of art, and also go to the Open Access Artworks for more than 406,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works that may be downloaded for non-commercial use.

Museum of Modern Art (MOMA)

Online collection of over 8,500 artists and 81,000  works.

National Galleries Scotland

The entire catalogue of over 92,000 artworks available to view online.

National Gallery

The entire collection of over 2,300 paintings. 

National Portrait Gallery

The most extensive collection of portraits in the world with over images 145,000 online. 

Open F|S

The complete digitized collections of the Freer and Sackler Galleries and the Freer Study Collection, home to some of the world’s most important holdings of Asian art.

OpenGlam Open Collections

A compilation of openly licensed image collections from several cultural institutions. All of those listed contain images that can be freely used without restriction.

Reading Pictures: Images of Woman in Advertising

A free resource for students studying the visual component of mass media, taking advertising in women’s magazines as its focus. It includes extracts from the original PhD research from 1975, together with updates from 2012 and 2018. It also provides guidance on methodology, a comprehensive gallery of advertisements from both periods and draws conclusions about the changes in female stereotypes over the intervening decades.

Rijksmuseum

Browse 664,774 works of art from the Dutch national gallery.

Smithsonian Institution

Search over 14 million records from the world’s largest museum, with more than 3 million containing online images, video and sound files.

Tate

All works from the national collection of British art from 1500 to today, plus international modern and contemporary art.

The United States’ National Gallery of Art

NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the US National Gallery of Art. More than 51,000 open access digital images are available free of charge for download and use.

V&A Images

Over 783,000 images from the V&A collections.

Wellcome Images

Thousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects.

Copyright aware

Copyright Aware is a BBC website explaining what copyright is and gives guidance on how you can protect your own creative work and how to use other people's work legally.

Video databases

Tate Audio Arts

An online collection of 30 years worth of audio content called Audio Arts. This was established by British artist Bill Furlong in 1972 who captured sound art and recorded interviews with world famous artists. More than 900 individual artists are included in the collection, such as Marcel Duchamp, Andy Warhol, Joseph Beuys and Tracey Emin.

V&A YouTube Channel

The V&A YouTube Channel is the V&A's online film magazine. The high quality films feature items in the V&A's collection, celebrity interviews from private views and exhibition showcases.