Databases are collections of information used in academic study and research. Different databases provide access to journal articles, statistics, images, and sound, as well as indexes of further information.
Discover is the main Leeds Beckett search tool, drawing in content from many different databases. However, using a variety of databases in your work increases your chance of finding relevant information.
You can also see the full lists of databases and ejournals we have access to at Leeds Beckett:
Full text access to every article ever published by ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
This is the database for all publications from the British Standards Institute (BSI). It includes current, historic, and draft British Standards; BSI adopted European and international standards; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries.
Please note you will need to download File Open to be able to download the full standards. Rather than download, you can view the document by clicking on 'Quick View' but please note it isn't always the full version.
Full text for more than 2,300 journals, half of which are peer-reviewed. Full text goes back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Subjects include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. This database is updated daily.
Content on health and safety toolbox talks, case studies, industry news and research from the Construction Industry Research and Information Association (CIRIA).
Please note: we do not have access to all publications – if you require full text CIRIA publications we advise using the Construction Information Service database to find these.
Contains articles from 103 management journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Emerald eBook series brings together two collection of over 1,600 titles which focus on two different areas: Business, Management & Economics, and Social Sciences.
Access to the database of over 140 million patents.
Institution of Civil Engineers collection, but also useful to anyone researching architecture, building and the built environment, land management, property management, urban design, planning, transport and urban design.
We have access to the eBook collection up until 2016, and the full text journal archive content between 1836 and 2002 containing every peer-reviewed technical paper published by the ICE. Once you have run a search on the database you can select the years 1836-2002.
Provides access to almost 3-million full text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications, including journal articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, and related materials in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, and allied fields.
The IET Digital Library is a global repository of science, engineering and technology focused content. This eBook collection allows access to the 2010-2023 titles from the IET Ultimate Collection. Subscribed content is shown with a purple unlocked padlock symbol.
Full text access to over 380 Sage Publication titles subscribed to by The Library mainly in the social sciences, including titles on law (mainly crime and criminal justice), business, humanities, science, technology and medicine.
Collection of eBooks and ejournals which mainly covers the subject areas of: Computer Science, Engineering, Business, Management and Accounting, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Health Sciences and Psychology.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Publishers of scholarly journals, books, eBooks, reference works, and databases, the content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Database of references to some books and journal articles taken from a wide variety of subject areas. Full text access is only available to some 400 of the thousands of publications listed. You can only see the full text of those items that have an open lock symbol next to them. If no such symbol appears you do not have full text access.
