The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Dictionaries include:
- A Dictionary of Critical Theory
- A Dictionary of Writers and their Works (2 ed.)
- Oxford Dictionary of English Idioms (3 ed.)
- The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms (3 ed.)
- The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (2 ed.)
- The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
- The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction
Research tool allowing researchers to access primary material depicting key elements of nineteenth century popular culture, including spiritualism in Victorian Britain, the circus, pleasure gardens, advertising and music hall. Primary material in the collection includes books, pamphlets, journals, posters, photographs, prints, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, theatre tickets, architectural design plans, scripts, programmes and playbills.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Includes statistics such as:
We have access to:
Gale Literature brings together Gale's literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. A combination of literary content. As Gale makes additional Literary Resources available through Gale Literature, and if your library has access to these products, they will be automatically added to the Gale Literature experience upon release.
Gale Literature includes the following databases:
A large collection of material on all aspects of literature. You can find:
- Criticism: scholarly articles and books (over 430 scholarly journals are included)
- Primary texts: original literary works of poetry, drama and prose
- Reference works: encyclopedias, companions, dictionaries, biographies, study guides and topic overviews
- Author pages: browse authors by literary period, literary movement or name
- Audio and video collections: Shakespeare Audio Plays, Poets on Screen and Poetry Archive Audio
An illustrated collection of more than 59,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past
