We have access to The British Library Newspapers collections part I and II, containing 71 titles:
Part I: 1800-1900
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stewart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal. Part I contains 49 titles that were selected by an academic advisory board for their importance for the study of the period.
Part II: 1800-1900
Part II further expands the range of English regional newspapers and the political views represented in the programme. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, helps capture conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
17th-18th Century newspapers, pamphlets, and books, all gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.
All issues of the Daily Mail between 1896 and 2004. The issues are direct replicas of the print newspapers and include advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century British culture and society.
Allows you to conduct historical research across multiple Gale primary source databases, which include Archives Unbound, British Library Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive, Gale Literature, 19th Century UK Periodicals, 17th-18th Century Newspapers, and the Times Digital Archive.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-2017) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
An online, full text facsimile of 200 years of The Times, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785 to 2019. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
A research facility that allows you to retrieve as-published pages from the back catalogues of the Daily Express (1900 to date), Daily Star (2000 to date) & Daily Mirror (1903-July 2023).
Providing a collection of archival film footage from the past 120 years which has been collected by the British Film Institute. These include collections on comedy, female filmmakers, LGBT Britain, animation and lots more.
Online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 TV and radio channels. These channels include BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, BBC 4, Film 4 and radio channels including Radio 4 and lots more. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of over 2 million programmes that is fully searchable.
Available in the UK. If you are in a non-EU country, the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and you may not access BoB content, even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
To access this resource, click on log in where it says Please log in via your home organisation, choose Leeds Beckett University from the drop down list and click on Select.
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Film streaming service where you can watch movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos. We don't have access to the full collection, but there are still a wide range of videos to watch, selected to match our curriculum.
*Apologies please use a pc/mac to view there is an error when accessing via a mobile/tablet device.
On-demand media recording service for Leeds Beckett staff. Content includes in-house recordings such as inaugural lectures and graduation ceremonies.
LeedsBeckett TV is available on and off campus (but not outside the UK).
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collections 1 and 2 offer a total of 50 filmed performances.
A developing resource produced in partnership with Digital Theatre, providing access to a wide range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance.
Included within the archive are interviews with key figures in theatre history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; unique footage direct from the legendary practitioners themselves; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences.
The video material spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theatre topics. The content is updated and added to every three months.
