The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Historical dictionaries include:
- A Dictionary of British History (3 ed.)
- A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (5 ed.)
- A Dictionary of World History (3 ed.)
Provides access to historical maps and map data of Great Britain, published between 1846 and 1996. You can compare 2 maps of the same area side-by-side so you can see how an area has changed over time. Data is available either to download, to use with appropriate software such as geographical information systems (GIS) or computer-aided design (CAD), or as online maps.
An illustrated collection of more than 59,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past
Who's Who in the Classical World
Who's Who in the Twentieth Century
From Albert Einstein to the Marx Brothers, this authoritative reference book provides 2000 biographies of men and women from different countries and cultures who have contributed to the thought as well as the action of the twentieth century.For anyone seeking clear and accurate information on the leading figures of this century, it is an essential work of reference.Biographies of 2,000 famous men and women of this centuryLeading figures from politics, religion, science, literature, medicine, cinema, sport, and many other fields of human activityWorldwide coverage, spanning all countries and culturesAuthoritative entries written in a clear and accessible styleUp-to-date and reliable informationIdeal for browsingAn essential work of reference
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Includes statistics such as:
Below are statistics databases, but you might also find our lists of free statistical data on the Statistics page useful.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
Online access to the Census of England and Wales held on 21 March 2021 by the Office for National Statistics.
Provides statistics at European level (from the European Union statistics office in Luxembourg) that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Provides statistics on a range of areas, such as population, international trade and transportation to show comparisons between countries and regions within the EU.
The latest comprehensive range of official UK statistics about the economy, population and society at national and local level. Summaries and detailed data releases are published free of charge.
A comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. It contains single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
