The Library: Geography, Planning & Housing

• British Geological Survey
  Founded in 1835, the British Geological Survey (BGS) is the world's oldest national geological survey and the United Kingdom's premier centre for earth science information and expertise.
• Cyburbia
  Site for urban planners and others interested in cities and the built environment, contains a selective directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism. 
• Data Archive (UKDA)
  A centre of expertise in data acquisition, preservation, dissemination and promotion and is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK
• ELDIS [Electronic Development and Environment Information System]
  An online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. Includes links to summaries and full-text research and policy documents.
• English Heritage Archives
  Enables you to search English Heritage's archives containing thousands of photographs and documents relating to England's historic buildings and archaeological sites. Some records are accompanied by online images.
• Geological Society of London
  A not-for-profit organisation. Its aims are to improve knowledge and understanding of the Earth, to promote Earth science education and awareness, and to promote professional excellence and ethical standards in the work of Earth scientists.
• Historic England
  The public body that champions and protects England's historic places.
• Human Development Reports (UNDP)
  Full text of the United Nations Development Programme's global, regional and national reports covering the economic, social, political, and cultural issues related to development, including human rights, poverty, education, economic reform, HIV/AIDS, and globalization.
• Open Geography portal
  Allows users to discover, view and download geographical reference data to support National Statistics.
• Something Concrete
  This archive consists of over 40 projects across the North East region. You can view the projects via the archive either by region – Tyne and Wear, Durham or Teesside or typology. 
• UK in figures: official statistics for the United Kingdom
  A summary of official government statistics. Includes statistics on economic and financial trends, environment, housing and the output of selected industries.
• World Development Reports - World Bank
  An invaluable guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today.
• Worldmapper
  A collection of nearly 700 world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to a particular variable eg. population, food imports and exports, health, income, education etc.

• Planning Portal the home of planning and building regulations information and the national planning application service for England and Wales
• Planning Finder portal to planning applications across the UK
• Hansard the official report of all Parliamentary debates
• Official Documents (Government) command papers and official papers

• British Property Federation
  This is the trade association of the property industry. It provides information about current issues and policy and lobbies on behalf of investors in commercial and residential property.
• The Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
  (Formerly known as the Department for Communities and Local Government). This government web site includes consultation papers, other publications and information about regeneration, housing, planning and urban policy.
• RICS (Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors)
  RICS is the world's leading professional body for qualifications and standards in land, property, infrastructure and construction.
• Royal Town Planning Institute
  The professional body for town planning. Includes information about training and education, continuing professional development and information for the public.
• Town and Country Planning Association
  ​​​​​​​The TCPA is a charity, which campaigns for reform of the UK's planning system. The web site includes many useful links to related organisations.

• Dentons UK Planning Law Blog

A polycentric global law firm

• Planning Portal Director's Blog

The purpose of the blog is to reach out and engage with users of the Portal service and of the planning system in general. Posts here will generally be about changes and improvements to the Portal and the planning system.

• Planning Resource

Expert comment and blogs on UK town planning news, planning system changes, NPPF, key decisions & appeals, development plans and Community Infrastructure Levy (CIL).