Skip to Main Content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Interior Architecture

You may also find the History Primary Sources page useful as well.

Local history

Leodis: a photographic archive of Leeds

Leodis is an online photographic archive containing over 59,000 images of Leeds, old and new. It is managed by the Leeds Library and Information Service. As well as photos there are also 5,500 playbills from the library collections offering a unique view of theatre life in Leeds from 1781 to the 1990s.

Discovering Leeds

Information and images on the history of Leeds, put together by the Leeds Library and Information Services. Includes sections on industrial Leeds and the waterfront.

Grace’s Guide to British Industrial History

A comprehensive source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain, including the Round Foundry in Leeds.

Leeds Engine Builders

A collection of research in to the early days of the Leeds engine building industry.

Scarborough Archaeological and Historical Society

Resources and information about the history of Scarborough. Includes an archive of photographs collected by the Scarborough Community Archive.

Secret Leeds

Discussion forum dedicated to investigating mysterious or unusual aspects of the built environment of Leeds.

Yorkshire Film Archive

A really useful collection of videos that you can use for local historical / contextual research. The Yorkshire Film Archive is a registered charity which finds, preserves and provides public access to moving image made in or about the Yorkshire and the North East of England.

Local archives and libraries you can contact or visit

Image taken from page 77 of 'Jackson's New Illustrated Guide to Leeds and Environs. [With illustrations.]'

Image taken from page 77 of 'Jackson's New Illustrated Guide to Leeds and Environs'.

Find this and over one million other copyright free images on the British Library Photostream

Historic maps

Images

Artstor

There are currently more than 2.5 million images from 280 collections and the collections are updated monthly. It supports teaching and research for a range of subjects: anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, history, fashion and costume, literature, religion, world history and more.

British Library Photostream

The British Library has uploaded one million public domain scans from 17th-19th century books to Flickr. The images are maps, geological diagrams, illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and more scanned from 65,000 volumes held by the British Library and they can be used and adapted for any purpose.

British Museum

Online database of the British Museum's Collections, including more than 800,000 images.

Europeana Art

Europeana Art introduces you to artists and artworks from across Europe. Explore over 1 million paintings, drawings, prints and other artworks from European public and private archives, galleries and museums, ranging from ancient Roman sculpture to modern design.

FOBO: From Old Books

Over 3,500 high-resolution images of pictures, engravings, and extracts scanned from old rare antique and vintage books. Medium-resolution images are can downloaded and used freely without copyright restrictions.

The Francis Frith Collection

​Photographic publishers since 1860, this website enables people to share images of their local region. So far there are photos and maps from of 7,273 UK towns and villages.

Historic England ViewFinder

The photographs on ViewFinder are all held in the Historic England Archive. They date from the 1850s and are a resource for people interested in England's social, industrial, architectural and archaeological history.

Imperial War Museum

Images primarily focused on Britain and the Commonwealth, from World War I to the present. Many images may be downloaded and used for educational purposes only. The rights must be checked for each individual image.

Leodis: a photographic archive of Leeds

Leodis is an online photographic archive containing over 59,000 images of Leeds, old and new. It is managed by the Leeds Library and Information Service. As well as photos there are also 5,500 playbills from the library collections offering a unique view of theatre life in Leeds from 1781 to the 1990s.

LIFE Photo Archive

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE magazine's photo archive, from the 1750s to today. Images include famous personalities as well as photos of historical and cultural events.

National Archives Image Library

Browse or search over 70,000 digitised images spanning hundreds of years of history from The National Archives' unique collections, from ancient maps to iconic advertising. Images are hallmarked but are still a great record of historical images.

National Trust Images

Offers free low resolution downloads of prints, painting, and photographs related to historic gardens and estates that are under the National Trust’s care.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

PPOC contains catalogue records and digital images from the Prints & Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. The collections include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

Queen Victoria's Journals

Queen Victoria was an avid journal writer and described her daily life not only in writing but also in drawings and watercolours. A keen artist from an early age, the Queen made numerous sketches of her homes and family, the places she visited and the people she met. A selection of her works is presented here. Some were drawn directly into her journals as illustrations of her diary entries, while others are taken from her albums and sketchbooks, housed in the Print Room at Windsor Castle.

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)

This is an important online resource for visual arts. It has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. They are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.

V&A Images

Here you can peruse 27,000 works and over 43,000 images from the V&A collections. These are provided free for educational use.

Wellcome Images

Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use and it is great for social history.

Even if an image is "free" it should still be acknowledged if you use it. A Harvard reference for an online image would look like this:

Norfolk, S. (2016) Oscar Niemeyer staircase [Online image]. Available from: <http://www.simonnorfolk.com/meanderings/meander-01> [Accessed 24 July 2021].

You can find guidelines for referencing images and other sources on Skills for Learning.

Newspaper archives

Media archives

AP Archive

AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press (AP), one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent news gathering. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895. Hours of new video footage is added daily with coverage from AP's global news gathering network. Also contains access to British Movietone, the world’s greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 – 1986.

Arts on Film Archive

A large range of films on art produced in the UK since the 1950s, and a unique record of British and international post-war art, as well as of documentary film-making in the UK. The archive gives online video streaming of all 450 films made by the film department of Arts Council England between 1953 and 1998 and several films produced until 2003 by the dance department of ACE.

BFI InView

Moving Images in the Public Sphere. It provides a selection of material drawn from the rich film and television collections of the BFI National Archive, working with partner organisations. Select the login button, this brings up the UK Access Management login screen - Select Leeds Beckett University from the list.

British Library Sounds

Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

British Pathé

British Pathé is one of the oldest media companies in the world. By the time Pathé finally stopped producing the cinema newsreel in 1970 they had accumulated 3,500 hours of filmed history amounting to over 90,000 individual items. Whereas all professional usages still require a licence fee, there are free "preview" facilities on this site.

Yorkshire Film Archive

The Yorkshire Film Archive is a registered charity which finds, preserves and provides public access to moving image made in or about the Yorkshire region.