Skip to main content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Interior Architecture

Statista

Includes statistics such as:

  • Average salary for Interior Designers in the UK
  • Value of the UK's architectural services exports and imports
  • Gross value added (GVA) of the architecture industry in the UK
  • Furniture in the UK
  • Distribution of architecture, building and planning graduates in the UK
  • Revenue of architectural activities in the UK

Other statistical databases

Market data

Material and product databases

Free material sources

ArCAT

A building product information website that includes 10,500 manufacturer listings by alpha or CSI section, 7000 BIM Models, 900 specs all in the CSI 3 part format, 300 SpecWizards for automated spec writing and 7,000 CAD Details. Free to use and no registration required.

Architonic 

A showcase of over 120,000 design products and materials, linking architectural projects with the furnishings, materials and fittings that have been used in their execution.

Barbour Product Search 

A building products directory featuring thousands of UK building products and construction material manufacturers. Useful for finding building products, construction materials and interior design ideas.

Building Products Index 

UK online database of building materials, including links to company websites. You can search by company and brand, or by product or material. Requires free registration.

GreenSpec 

Created with government funding so independent of companies or trade, GreenSpec promotes sustainable building products and materials.

ESI.info 

Working across five environmental sectors, ESI.info offers the broadest mix of supplier and product information on the market, combined with insightful articles and case studies to keep architects up to date with sector innovations.

Materia 

A knowledge centre for developments and innovations in materials, and their applications for architecture and design. Materia includes a search engine to their knowledge bank of materials.

MatMatch 

Find and compare materials and connect directly with suppliers.

 

Sweets 

Search for building product information and manufacturers by keyword or Masterformat. Fast-track design, specifications, and document creation with downloadable, insertable product information.

Transmaterial 

Online catalogue and expert knowledge of new materials and the latest high-tech and environmentally friendly products. Aims to inspire architects and designers looking to transform the structure, spaces and surfaces of their projects.

Web pages for finding current case studies

Abitare 

Website of the Italian architecture journal Abitare. As well as information on the articles printed in the journals (which you can read in the Library), it also contains architecture news updated daily, and information on companies, buildings, design and products.

AJ 

From The Architects' Journal, contains architecture news updated daily, and information on companies, buildings, design and products.

Archdaily 

A leading online source of information for architects around the world.

Archinect 

A site designed to make architecture more connected and open-minded, and bring together designers from around the world to introduce new ideas from all disciplines.

Architectural Digest 

AD is the international design authority, featuring the work of top architects and designers.

Architectural Record 

Supplements the monthly magazine with expanded multimedia project stories, in-depth interviews with giants of architecture, daily news updates, weekly book reviews, green architecture stories and archival material, as well as links to people and products.

Architonic 

An independent gateway to architecture and design information and videos. Contains sections on news and trends, products and material, people, and industry news.

Bdonline 

Made by the publisher's of Building Design magazine and provides around the clock news, videos, blogs, culture, reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world.

Design Milk 

An online magazine dedicated to modern design.

Detail 

Online portal for the German architecture journal. Includes articles and films on current building projects and current architecture news. Also has a 'Green' page with articles focussed on sustainability.

Dezeen 

One of the most popular and influential architecture and design blogs on the internet.

RIBA 

Website of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Includes a directory of all RIBA's members, their Library Catalogue, online exhibitions and information portals on topics such as sustainability.

Wallpaper 

Website from the global magazine that features the latest in architecture, design, fashion and interiors.

Patents

A patent protects new inventions and covers how things work, what they do, how they do it, what they are made of and how they are made. Patents can also give valuable technical information. What is a patent and what does it mean? is a handy introductory guide to patents.

Books to help you prepare for jobs in interior architecture

Trade journals

Trade journals or magazines are written for people working in the interior architecture industry. They feature articles that focus on contemporary topics of interest to design professionals and will often include industry-specific advertising and job postings. Some useful interior architecture trade journals we have are:

Standards