Databases are collections of information used in academic study and research. Different databases provide access to journal articles, statistics, images, and sound, as well as indexes of further information.
Discover is the main Leeds Beckett search tool, drawing in content from many different databases. However, using a variety of databases in your work increases your chance of finding relevant information.
You can also see the full lists of databases and ejournals we have access to at Leeds Beckett:
Online TV and radio recording service. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 TV and radio channels. These channels include BBC 1, BBC 2, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, BBC 4, Film 4 and radio channels including Radio 4 and lots more. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely and added to a growing media archive of over 2 million programmes that is fully searchable.
Available in the UK. If you are in a non-EU country, the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and you may not access BoB content, even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. Covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print. Some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more. It covers a vast amount of subjects from Art and Design (Wallpaper magazine) to Zoology (BBC Wildlife).
As a Leeds Beckett student you can read all these publications - just sign in with your Leeds Beckett email and password. For additional features, such as adding favourite publications and setting up email alerts, register for a PressReader account by clicking the "User" icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. We recommend the desktop version, as the app needs to be re-authenticated weekly via accessing 'https://www-pressreader-com.leedsbeckett.idm.oclc.org/catalog' on your device and opening/installing app when prompted.
Scholarly humanities and social science journals and eBooks. You can access Project Muse titles from the 2013 and 2014 collections of History, Literature, Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non Fiction and Film, Theater and Performing Arts.
Statistics portal containing a vast source of worldwide statistical information across a wide range of topics. It gives access to more than 1.5 million statistics, forecasts, dossiers, reports and infographics on 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. It covers topics such as social media marketing, film industry, mobile internet, digital music, digital games and much more. You can also search for statistics on a topic you’re interested in and see what’s available.
Choose to download content as images, PowerPoint presentations or Excel spreadsheets. Includes comprehensive support information, allowing you to fully get to grips with the data and place it in context. .
