Journals (also known as periodicals, serials or magazines) are published on a regular basis and cover a particular subject or profession. Because they are published frequently, they are an excellent source of up-to-date information.
Each journal issue contains a number of articles, written by different authors, all of which will relate to the subject covered by the journal. Different types of journals are published, these include:
Journals often contain more specialised information than books, so you will use them as your academic interests develop, and they are useful for reading about more niche or specific topics.
See the Finding Information page which explains what searching techniques there are so that you can find the most relevant information for your needs. It also has tips on saving results and how to evaluate your sources.
These are some of your key journals. You may also find the Creative Technologies and Filmmaking journals useful.
The icons tell you whether these are available online or in print . Print journals are on the third floor of the Sheila Silver Library.
For a full list of all the Library's online journals go to:
You can also search Discover to see if we have a journal in print:
Discover is your academic search engine, which searches most resources including books, journals and databases available from Leeds Beckett Library. Discover is a great place to start your research, by using the tabbed search box below, or via the direct Discover link.
Full text access to every article ever published by ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
The electronic library of the Audio Engineering Society. Search almost every AES paper published at a convention, conference or in the Journal of the AES, from 1953 to the present. To access please hover over “Publications” in the options bar, select “Publications Home” and then select the required resource.
The association for academics and professionals who research digital games and associated phenomena.
DiGRA’s Digital Library provides an open access archival service for research papers and proceedings from a variety of academic venues including DiGRAs flagship and regional conferences.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the year 2000. Provides comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theatres, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements. Core titles such as Variety, Billboard, Broadcasting and The Stage are included providing historical information on the full range of popular entertainment.
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 1.2 million records, with coverage dating as far back as 1938. There is full text for more than 520 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Provides access to almost 3-million full text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications, including journal articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, and related materials in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, and allied fields.
A regularly updated, digitized journal archive providing you with a wide range of scholarly content. A key resource for Humanities and Social Sciences. This is an archive so the current issues will not be available straight away, but you will always get from volume 1, issue 1 for every journal title.
Leeds Beckett subscribes to the Arts and Sciences Collection I, II and III, which covers archaeology, classical studies, economics, geography, history, language, music, performing and visual arts, political science, sociology.
PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print. Some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more. It covers a vast amount of subjects from Art and Design (Wallpaper magazine) to Zoology (BBC Wildlife).
As a Leeds Beckett student you can read all these publications - just sign in with your Leeds Beckett email and password. For additional features, such as adding favourite publications and setting up email alerts, register for a PressReader account by clicking the "User" icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. We recommend the desktop version, as the app needs to be re-authenticated weekly via accessing 'https://www-pressreader-com.leedsbeckett.idm.oclc.org/catalog' on your device and opening/installing app when prompted.
Full text access to over 380 Sage Publication titles subscribed to by The Library mainly in the social sciences, including titles on law (mainly crime and criminal justice), business, humanities, science, technology and medicine.
Collection of eBooks and ejournals which mainly covers the subject areas of: Computer Science, Engineering, Business, Management and Accounting, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Health Sciences and Psychology.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
After clicking ‘Access Database’ there is a known problem when trying to subsequently sign in to a personal account. Please try the sign in process a couple of times, or if an error occurs clear cache/cookies or go incognito - eventually you should be authenticated and signed in - you will see your initials top right of screen if so.
Publishers of scholarly journals, books, eBooks, reference works, and databases, the content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Database of references to some books and journal articles taken from a wide variety of subject areas. Full text access is only available to some 400 of the thousands of publications listed. You can only see the full text of those items that have an open lock symbol next to them. If no such symbol appears you do not have full text access.
PressReader has over 5000 publications from over 100 countries. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print. Some titles that you can access include Computer Arts, The Guardian, T3 and lots more. It covers a vast amount of subjects from Art and Design (Wallpaper magazine) to Zoology (BBC Wildlife).
As a Leeds Beckett student you can read all these publications - just sign in with your Leeds Beckett email and password. For additional features, such as adding favourite publications and setting up email alerts, register for a PressReader account by clicking the "User" icon in the top right hand corner of the screen. We recommend the desktop version, as the app needs to be re-authenticated weekly via accessing 'https://www-pressreader-com.leedsbeckett.idm.oclc.org/catalog' on your device and opening/installing app when prompted.
Provides access to full text newspapers and allows you to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives, with over 2,000 full-text newspaper titles from across the world. Includes over 700 UK newspapers, including local, trade and national titles.
This database contains the full text of the Financial Times, with a 30 day embargo.
Full text archive of key UK and Irish news titles such as The Guardian. If a log in prompt displays, please use your standard University username and password - an additional Lexis account is not needed.
An online, full text facsimile of 200 years of The Times, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785 to 2019. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Provides access to premium version of the global business based FT.com. In addition we have access to FT.com app.
Other, more specialist news sources are available, particularly for historical research.
