Skip to Main Content
The Library is open 24/7

The Library

Performance & Dance

Audiovisual materials in the Library

The Library has a collection of film, television and video games available to borrow.

To search the collection go to the Library Catalogue and at the right-hand side in the 'Other Ways To Search' select 'Audio-Visual Titles' then type your search terms into the box.

Performance & Dance Video and Audio resources

General Video and Audio resources

Free audiovisual resources on the Web

AP Archive
AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press (AP), one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent news gathering. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895. Hours of new video footage is added daily with coverage from AP's global news gathering network. Also contains access to British Movietone, the world’s greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 – 1986.

Arts on Film Archive
A a large range of films on art produced in the UK since the 1950s, and a unique record of British and international post-war art, as well as of documentary film-making in the UK. The archive gives online video streaming of all 450 films made by the film department of Arts Council England between 1953 and 1998 and several films produced until 2003 by the dance department of ACE.

BFI Screenonline

The British Film Institute's Screenonline is an online encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips from the vast collections of the BFI National Archive, and several hours of recorded interviews with film and TV personalities. These clips are supplemented by rich and authoritative contextual material by expert writers, specially commissioned for BFI Screenonline alongside thousands of stills, posters and press books.

Britain On Film

A BFI database that contains 1,000 films covering 120 years of British life. The interactive map means you can search for specific places, or browse to see what films they have for a particular area. The majority of content on the map is free, but some content has to be paid for due to rights holders obligations.

British Council Film Collection

The British Council Film Collection is an archive of 120 short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played. Over 120 films were produced as 'cultural propaganda' to counteract anything the Nazis might throw out and to refute the idea that ours was a country stuck in the past. These films were designed to showcase Britain to the rest of the world, at a time when Britain itself was under attack.

British Library Sound Archive

One of the world's largest sound archives. Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound, including oral history.

To access this resource, click on log in where it says Please log in via your home organisation, choose Leeds Beckett University from the drop down list and click on Select.

British Pathé
British Pathé is one of the oldest media companies in the world. By the time Pathé finally stopped producing the cinema newsreel in 1970 they had accumulated 3,500 hours of filmed history amounting to over 90,000 individual items. Whereas all professional usages still require a licence fee, there are free "preview" facilities on this site.

British Universities Film and Video Council Moving Image Gateway
This gateway includes nearly 1,200 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been sub-divided into over 40 subject areas, including History.

Europeana Music
Europeana Music brings together a selection of the best music recordings, sheet music, and other music related collections from Europe's audio-visual archives, libraries, archives and museums. Explore over 300,000 music recordings, pieces of sheet music and other music items from across Europe and listen to Europeana Radio where you can choose from Classical Music or Traditional and Folk Music.

Independent Radio at BUFVC

The ILR Programme Sharing Scheme encompassed a concept which enabled features, drama, music and news producers working in commercial radio around Britain to offer material - including a significant body of speech-based programming produced locally - to other stations. The database contains c1120 recordings generated by the scheme. The ILR Programme Sharing database is only available for access and use to bona fide students, researchers and teachers in further and higher education in the United Kingdom and to BUFVC members.

Yorkshire Film Archive
The Yorkshire Film Archive is a registered charity which finds, preserves and provides public access to moving image made in or about the Yorkshire region.

Library online image resources

Free image resources on the Web

AP Images
Archive from the Associated Press, containing more than 3,000 photos a day from journalists recording news as it happens around the world. For more than a century, AP has captured the greatest moments in history, breaking news, sports, politics and entertainment.

Getty Images
Getty Images is among the world’s leading creators and distributors of award-winning photography. These are the photos that appear every day in the world’s most influential newspapers, magazines, advertising campaigns, films, television programs, books and online media.

LIFE Photo Archive

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE magazine's photo archive, from the 1750s to today. Images include famous personalities as well as photos of historical and cultural events.

National Archives Image Library
Browse or search over 70,000 digitised images spanning hundreds of years of history from The National Archives' unique collections, from ancient maps to iconic advertising. Images are hallmarked but are still a great record of historical images.