The Library

English Literature and Creative Writing

Useful class numbers

A class number (sometimes called a class mark) is a series of numbers and/or letters found on a resource which indicate its subject area and its position on the library shelves. Books about the same subject are assigned the same class number. You'll find the number on the spine of each book. Here is a selection of class numbers for English Literature:

800 Literature
808 Creative writing
801.95 Literary criticism
810 American literature in English
820 English literature
820.9 English literary history
821 English poetry
822 English drama
823 English fiction

Ebooks

Individual ebook titles can be accessed online through the Library Catalogue. A link to the book is given in the catalogue record. You will need to login with your Leeds Beckett username and password to access the full text. The following ebook collections are also available:

Oxford Reference Online

A comprehensive collection of Oxford's reference titles, organised into various subject categories with 42 full text titles within English Literature.

Oxford Scholarship Online

An ebook provider containing the full text of 6,500 titles in 19 subject areas, including Literature. These ebooks can be read on screen, downloaded to PDF, printed or emailed to you.

Project Muse

Over 600 peer-reviewed English Literature digital books from major university presses and scholarly publishers. The ebooks can be accessed on there own, or searched alongside Project Muse's extensive journal collection.

Academic Library eBooks

ebook collections in the subject areas of culture and media studies; politics and international relations; classics in political economy and literature. The collections can be either browsed or searched. 

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Search and view the full text of eBooks. Covering general non fiction, business and economics, computer science, engineering and technology, health and medicine, political science and reference.

HEbook

A collection of high quality ebooks focused on the humanities.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

An illustrated collection of more than 56,600 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.

Project Gutenberg

A digital library of free ebooks that contains hundreds of full text fiction titles.

Search the Library Catalogue

New books and ebooks for English Literature and Creative Writing

Here are some English Literature and Creative Writing books that have recently been added to Library stock:

Very Short Introductions eBook collection

We have access to the Very Short Introductions eBook collection. This is a great resource of over 450 eBooks from Oxford University Press. This collection covers a wide variety of topics including: Accounting, Descartes and Robotics.

The eBooks are all in a short format, written by experts in their field and are an excellent way to get to grips with new subjects!

To access this resource simply search the catalogue for Very Short Introductions or visit the eBook collections page.

Your Academic Librarians

Karen Fisher and Alison Park's picture
Karen Fisher and Alison Park

Book an Appointment

Contact:
0113 812 1106
Social:Twitter Page

Beckett Books Extra

This service allows you to suggest resource purchases for addition to our Library stock. This could be particularly useful to you if you are currently working on your dissertation and require books on a subject area we don't have in stock. To suggest a title, please fill in the Beckett Books Extra online form with as much information as you can; you can also find the form on the Library tab in MyBeckett.

To find out more information on Beckett Books Extra, see the guide here.

Search other libraries

Copac 

  • Provides free access to the merged online catalogues of major UK and Irish university research libraries, plus the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and the National Library of Wales / Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru. 

Using other libraries

  • Students and staff can use other UK libraries through various schemes.

Interlibrary Loans

  • Final year undergraduates, postgraduate students and staff can access material not held by Leeds Beckett Library via our Interlibrary Loans service.