The Library

Law

OSCOLA Referencing

Teach yourself the principles of OSCOLA referencing.

OSCOLA quick reference guide: A helpful one page summary.

OSCOLA manual: The complete version of the official OSCOLA manual. (Tip: Use keyboard shortcut "Ctrl+F" to search in the PDF document for a relevant word - e.g. "Footnote" or "Judge")

OSCOLA 2006: citing international law section

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

OSCOLA guide from Lincoln University has more examples than the Official Guide, so feel free to take a look. 

Converting footnotes to bibliography in Word a guide by Allen Wyatt that shows you an easy way to convert footnotes into a Bibliography.

Referencing and Research skills for Law

This page contains research tools and tutorials on different aspects of Referencing and Research for Law students. 

You can learn how to reference using OSCOLA, how to keep up to date with current developments in Law, and how to evaluate resources on this page. These are vital skills you should develop throughout your study. If you feel you would benefit from more information make an appointment with your Academic Librarians.

Legal Research

The resources listed below are of general interest, you can use the links at the top of the page to find resources on specific topics of legal research, as well as our legal databases, such as Westlaw

Law research resources

General resources

Print resources

You can browse the Library Catalogue for relevant print resources, such as:

Current awareness for Law

Current awareness means being aware or abreast of changes and developments in your area of interest or research.  It may be a new book that has come out, a new journal article, a thought that has crossed someone's mind and reported in a blog, a government proposal for new legislation, a new product, a new patent, a newly released statistic, a new appointment to a post, something you should see or hear and it may even be a new job opportunity.

There are many different ways of keeping in touch with change(s) and here are just a few:

  • Reading a daily newspaper.
  • Listening to or watching the news.
  • Scanning or browsing new issues of journals in your area as they come out.
  • Looking at "new books" lists or new book displays.
  • Getting on the mailing lists of publishers for their new catalogues.
  • Set up alerts services with online bookshops.
  • Read the "Reviews" sections in newspapers and journals.
  • Sign up to a few e-awareness services in your subject area, or use e-services that offer an alerts service where you are notified of the "new" content that has been added in your area.
  • Join an online discussion group.

Sources for current awareness:

Westlaw UK

The current awareness section is useful for keeping up-to-date. Also links to Westlaw International for access to all Westlaw content outside of the UK and Europe. The News section is not included in our subscription. Try using Lexis Library for News. 
 

WLR Daily

Free case summary service from ICLR. Part of The Daily Law Notes service. Provides free access to case summaries in an easy to use format.

The current awareness section is useful for keeping up-to-date. To search the current awareness section of LNB, enter the database, select Current Awareness, then enter search terms relating to what you want to look for. 
 

Law Commission

The Law Commission conducts research and consultations in order to make systematic recommendations for consideration by Parliament. This site contains links to current and closed consultations, reports and bulletins. There is also a table showing the implementation status of  law reform reports.

Sweet and Maxwell

The site includes Current Law and European Current Law "case of the week", a Crown Court Alerting Service (you need to register for this but it is free). 

Certificates and guides for databases

Get a certificate of your Law research skills! 

These comprehensive guides and tutorials provide an in depth course in using these products. For many databases you can work through a tutorial to receive a certificate of achievement. 

Lexis

Westlaw

Cases - keeping up to date

RSS feeds and email updates can be created with both paid for and free resources so you can easily keep up with developments in the law. 

ICLR

The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting (ICLR) is the authorised publisher of the official series: The Law Reports for the Superior and Appellate Courts of England and Wales. They provide email and RSS alerts for Latest Case Summaries and Latest Published Cases.

BAILII

The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) is an organisation that aims to make the law available for free on its website. If you are interested in receiving notifications of new judgments from individual courts in the UK, or recent cases of interest, you can set up an RSS feed here: http://www.bailii.org/rss

Court websites

Many courts now publish judgments on their websites and often have an RSS feed option to allow you to stay up-to-date with new judgments. Here are a couple of examples:

European Court of Human Rights RSS

European Court of Justice RSS